struggling with high frequencies...

Discussion in 'Mixing and Mastering' started by TruBlood, Aug 9, 2017.

1. TruBlood

TruBlood Kapellmeister

I am relatively new to producing and mixing and mastering.. But one thing I am noticing is that in a lot of the polished and pro mastered/mixed tracks they are able to really keep the high frequencies intact without killing the listeners ears. How do they do this so well? Tricks ? The only way I can achieve this is by EQ sweep obviously and the MB compression helps but I still feel like I lose some of the highs compared to the pro engineers tracks. Any suggestions for taming the high frequencies without doing a EQ sweep and essentially killing your sound?

3. digitaldragon

digitaldragon Audiosexual

Console emulation (Nebula, Acqua, etc.) is the best way to cure digital harshness in the HF range in my experience. Either that or analog summing through hardware. Makes the highs buttery smooth!

• Like x 3
    • Agree x 3
    • Dislike x 1
    • Funny x 1
    • Winner x 1
    • List
  4. WillTheWeirdo

WillTheWeirdo Audiosexual

You'll want to severely limit using algorithmic plugins on the top end as they get harsh quickly IMHO. Algo plugs work well in the mid range but up top and down low they loose it, look into the Acustica Audio Acqua's as Digitaldragon suggested, you'll be amazed at the difference at how natural your top end will become. Coming from hardware only AA's technology gave me what hardware did, today I do not miss much hardware..... we work in great times.

Demo Diamond and you'll understand exactly what we are referring to up top.

• Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • List
  5. TruBlood

TruBlood Kapellmeister

I see there is pink on the sister site.. Will that that be a good place to start or do I need this Acqua one..

6. xbitz

xbitz Rock Star

• Agree Agree x 2
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  7. No Avenger

No Avenger Moderator Staff Member