Strange computer slowdown and need help

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by Bunford, Jun 4, 2017.

1. Bunford

Bunford Audiosexual

Recently I have been having some wirdness with my computer and looking for ideas. As a starting point, I have been building myown computers for about 15-20 years so am very familiar with hardware and software issues.

My USB 3.0 transfer speeds acted weird first. A file with start transferring normally at full speed, into the tens of MB/s. Halfway through it isnas if it hits a wall and is throttled somehow. Why I think it ia throttled is because it slows to a speed bouncing between 0 and 355KB/s, never more. This happens usually when I am transferring oje or more items, and usually with larger files as smaller files seem to transfer quickly and complete before this wall is hit.

As if that is not weird enough, when it happens my broadband speed seems to be throttled at the exact same time, and again to 355KB/s. This is a 80MB broadband that has normal speed of around the 9/10MB/s mark.

In addition, my web browser (Chrome) seem to crash too and I just get the website cannot be loaded error on anything I try to open. If I close Chrome, it then will not open again.

Between these, it is as if my computer is beinf crippled and throttled somehow. However, when I open a file using the standard Windows Explorer they open immediately and I can navigate around my files as if there is nothing crippling it.

THEN, when I restart my computer, everything boots back up to full and normal speed as if whatever was throttling things getbwiped from some cache or something in the restart.