Strange behaviour in Windows 7 new setup

Discussion in 'PC' started by Thunderbolt, Apr 1, 2019.

  1. Thunderbolt

    Thunderbolt Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Cape City
    hi mates
    i have a strange problem with a new setup in windows 7
    everything seems ok, but opening one chrome windows, appear 8 process in task manager
    when open maschine and close, maschine process still there in task manager
    when open kontakt and close, kontakt process still there in task manager
    when open samplitude, samplitude process still there in task manager

    some help please

    win 7 64 sp1
     
  2.  
  3. MichaelPatterson

    MichaelPatterson Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    57
    I can't speak to the Maschine or Kontakt issues, but the Chrome thing has happened to me on every computer I've ever used it on for the past 5 years. I've always assumed it to be normal behavior for Chrome.
     
  4. wasgedn

    wasgedn Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3,185
    Likes Received:
    1,257
    Location:
    Germany
    is youre station online ?

    which win7 version ?
     
  5. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    5,995
    Likes Received:
    3,250
    Location:
    Europe
    It is normal. Chrome launchs a new process for every tab and for some other things.
    Now that I think of it it's pretty equivalent to firewalling VSTs with Reaper or JBridge. Prevents one process crash to bring everything down.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  6. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    5,995
    Likes Received:
    3,250
    Location:
    Europe
    It's a long shot, but maybe is that the process explorer doesn't group processes together and it's more detailed in general.
    With windows 10 for instance you see more services processes but it's just because it doesn't greoup them. I don't know about Win7.
     
  7. Thunderbolt

    Thunderbolt Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Cape City
    Yes
    7 64 bits 7601 SP1

    DonĀ“t mind Chrome. Trouble is Kontakt and Maschine and others not close exe when quit.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  8. The Pirate

    The Pirate Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    4,934
    Likes Received:
    4,194
    Location:
    NOYMFB
    @Thunderbolt Having different process instances for one program and having them remain open after closing the application are two different things. You need to run Process Explorer. It will show you detailed information about a process including its icon, command-line, full image path, memory statistics, user account, security attributes, and more. When you zoom in on a particular process you can list the DLLs it has loaded or the operating system resource handles it has open. A search capability enables you to track down a process that has a resource opened, such as a file, directory or Registry key, or to view the list of processes that have a DLL loaded. You can obtain it here: https://live.sysinternals.com/ It is going to appear as procexp64.exe.
    Once you download it, follow the instructions here:https://www.thewindowsclub.com/fix-program-exe-file-stays-open-task-manager-closed
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2019
    • Like Like x 2
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • List
  9. The Pirate

    The Pirate Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    4,934
    Likes Received:
    4,194
    Location:
    NOYMFB
    @Thunderbolt could you check your Windows7 version and tell me if it is Build 7601.24214.180801. If it is, the best thing you can do is download the ORIGINAL Windows 7 ISO or the Windows 7 Lite.
    Build 7601.24214.180801 is the one Windows 7 you definitively should not have installed. Hopefully, you did not. In Build 7601.24214.180801 Microfuck included its telemetry crap. For more on this go to:https://audiosex.pro/threads/stay-away-from-the-new-official-windows-7-iso.43155/#post-381306
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2019
    • Like Like x 3
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • List
  10. The Pirate

    The Pirate Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    4,934
    Likes Received:
    4,194
    Location:
    NOYMFB
    Chrome uses multi process architecture. Read about it here: https://blog.chromium.org/2008/09/multi-process-architecture.html
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  11. wasgedn

    wasgedn Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3,185
    Likes Received:
    1,257
    Location:
    Germany
    maybe dumb question ....i think i have not this one , but where can i check that on installed OS pls
    EDIT and how can i check this on a iso
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2019
  12. wasgedn

    wasgedn Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3,185
    Likes Received:
    1,257
    Location:
    Germany
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  13. r4e

    r4e Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    1,019
    Open regedit, go to "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion"
    and take a look at the string "BuildLabEx"

    or open notepad, copy the code below and save it as *.bat or *.cmd file.
    It will then show you the value of the "BuildLabEx" string aka the extended build number.
    Code:
    @echo off
    title Windows Version
    color 5f
    mode con: cols=55 lines=5
    FOR /F "tokens=3 skip=2" %%i IN ('REG QUERY "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion" /v BuildLabEx') DO SET test=%%i
    echo. && echo     Windows Version:
    echo. && echo     %test%
    pause >nul
    cls
    
    [​IMG]

    Another option is:
    Hit the windows key + R on your keyboard, type in msinfo32 and hit enter.
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • List
  14. wasgedn

    wasgedn Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3,185
    Likes Received:
    1,257
    Location:
    Germany
    r4e:thanks::cheers:....you sure to be a cook and no IT man:hillbilly:

    soon i open retail pc doctor wasgedn and fix housewives and grandmas puters heh heh..
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  15. r4e

    r4e Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    1,019
    I'm sure I'm an IT man but I'm working as a cook atm.
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  16. The Pirate

    The Pirate Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    4,934
    Likes Received:
    4,194
    Location:
    NOYMFB
    Small world. I am a cook working as an IT man. I fry computers, boil CPUs and bake hard drives like no other.
     
  17. Paul Pi

    Paul Pi Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    632
    Location:
    London
    Yeah, but your chips (and tips) are totally crisp... :winker:
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2019
    • Funny Funny x 5
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • List
  18. Thunderbolt

    Thunderbolt Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Cape City
    Hi mates. Days ago making tests and nothing changed.

    This is a screenshot of the task manager. All processes repeated are closed, reopen and closed again. Programs are not running.

    [​IMG]

    I tried with antivurs, first Windows 7 DVD I had with all x32 and x64 versions (2009), some other versions from the other thread mentioned... but nothing worked.

    Is this not a known issue? Not a fix for this?
     
  19. Recoil

    Recoil Guest

    Have you used any crack to turn off the WAT? maybe you have an infected system.
     
  20. Thunderbolt

    Thunderbolt Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Cape City
    Sorry what is WAT?
    SSD system disk has been scanned with 3 different AV and with a CD-Live Kaspersky. No results found.
     
  21. Recoil

    Recoil Guest

    Windows Activation Tool :)

    Run CMD as an administrator or in safe mode and enter sfc /scannow

    wait until the end of the scan and reboot the system.
    It will repair all system files :)
     
Loading...
Loading...