Storing a Kontakt Library on a different Hard Drive

Discussion in 'Kontakt' started by WillyA, Feb 22, 2021.

  1. WillyA

    WillyA Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2019
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    78
    This may be yet another dumb question, but here goes.

    I have several music programs that have quite big libraries, and I keep these on a dedicated Hard Drive (no, I can't afford an SSD drive and I have LOTS of Hard Drive space in my Library drive).

    I have never tried doing this with Kontakt libraries.

    I'm using Kontakt 6.5 PORTABLE. I just download the entire Spitfire, - all 198 GB of it. There's plenty of room for it on my library drive, but is it possible to store this specific library on a different drive?

    If so? How so?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2.  
  3. naitguy

    naitguy Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    Canada
    Yep.. I assume you're on Windows (I don't know anything about the Mac side of things).

    You just use the Library Manager that is in the Helper folder in your Kontakt Portable location. You can have libraries all over the place, if you want. I personally have two different library locations.
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  4. boogiewoogie

    boogiewoogie Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    135
    You can put them anywhere you want :)
     
  5. WillyA

    WillyA Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2019
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    78
    Thank you both, good news indeed. what you are saying that I copy ALL the files that I would normally put into my Portable Kontakt library folder to the Library drive and then load up the Library Manager and browse to the location on my other drive and just select the folder - simple as that?
     
  6. naitguy

    naitguy Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    Canada
    I'd probably do it this way:

    - move all the libraries over to your new location (whatever is moving... whether it is everything, or just some things).
    - launch the library manager from your kontakt portable helper folder.
    - remove any libraries you moved from the library manager
    - add them back in with the new location by just selecting the root folder where they're all sitting and have it auto search that folder. You can also do them individually if you really want.
    - hit save...

    done.
     
  7. cexcean

    cexcean Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2020
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    22
    yup. I just wanted to emphasize naitguys 'hit save'

    Gotta remember to hit that save button after you add your Libraries


    (cause when you add them they show up in the right browser so you think they are there but if you don't hit the save button they'll disappear when you Load Kontakt)
     
  8. WillyA

    WillyA Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2019
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    78
    No Kidding, I found that out the hard way some while back!!!

    Thanks everyone.
     
  9. Smoove Grooves

    Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    4,013
    Likes Received:
    1,488
    Glad you're sorted, mate!
    Just to say considering I have at least 500GB of Spitfire Audio products, it's safe to say that your 198GB isn't the entire catalogue.
    What library did you download, out of interest?
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  10. WillyA

    WillyA Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2019
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    78
    Rutracker, search Spitfire Albion and it's the first one on the list :
    ALBION ONE
    ALBION II LOEGRIA
    ALBION III ICENI
    ALBION IV UIST
    ALBION V TUNDRA
    All combined into one install.
     
  11. naitguy

    naitguy Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    Canada
    ^^ Agreed!

    I bought EW Hollywood Strings Diamond, and that alone is a monstrous 312GB. I need more HD space! :)
     
  12. WillyA

    WillyA Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2019
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    78
    Hard Drives are dirt cheap if you hunt. I bought a 6TB USB drive for just over 100 Euros, strip off all the case and inside is a standard SATA drive. I also have a drive carriage in each computer. You can't hot swap them, but you can down the PC and replace the drive in a minute. I've always built my own machines, it's a lot cheaper than buying ready mades. Building computers is easier than working with a DAW!
     
  13. DoubleTake

    DoubleTake Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,233
    Likes Received:
    664
    EXCEPT that externals are usually 5400RPM and for libraries you normally want at least a 7200 RPM drive.
     
  14. WillyA

    WillyA Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2019
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    78
    Yes and no. I think it depends on what you are using and what you can afford. If you're someone who can afford to buy a 650 million dollar yacht like Bill Gates, you can buy the very best of everything, however, if you are on a tiny old age pension, you have to buy what you can afford and look at the importance of items.

    For example, is it better to have a super fast hard drive for your libraries or an i9 CPU as opposed to an i3 CPU? Then again, is an i9 CPU better than 128GB RAM rather than a miserable 8 or 16GB RAM?

    It's all a question of what you can afford. Alternatively, you can sit with your head in your hands and whine that you can't create music because to do so you MUST have an i9 CPU, 256GB RAM and a 12 TB Seagate Barracuda Pro 7200 Hard Drive.

    Of course, you guys have never experienced having to walk through heavy snow in the middle of the night to an outside toilet to take a crap, or wipe your arse on sheets of newspaper, or not have a Supermarket down the road and have to grow your own food and live on a Ration Book and get ONE OUNCE of meat per person per week. When you have, you'll thank God that you can afford to get a 6TB 5400 RPM Drive for your music. When I first started I had to make do with (for a long time) EIGHT GB Ram and a socket 775 quad core CPU (and despite all that, I still managed to make music). It's only when I managed to flog some of my amplifiers and other bits that I don't use any longer that I could afford 128GB RAM and an 17 CPU. I'm afraid that I don't rank drive speed anywhere close to memory.

    Sure it's great to have all the very best gear. If you are making music for a living (I have to feel sorry, because I think lockdown is here to stay and music is going to die) then you need to get the best you can afford. Conversely, if you DON'T make money from your music, weigh up which is the most important, CPU, Memory or storage speed. In my book, memory is by far the most important item, followed by CPU and speed of hard drive last. Just thank God you can do what you enjoy.

    BTW I've got several 5400 drives and I can't say that I've had any real problem, even using them as USB 3. (not USB 2, that really sucks).
     
  15. DoubleTake

    DoubleTake Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,233
    Likes Received:
    664
    Certainly if one can't afford the difference between the internal 7200 and 5400, the 5400 is the only choice.
     
  16. naitguy

    naitguy Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    Canada
    I'll likely pick up a 1TB NVME of some sort in the near future when I get some money. That'll buy me some time for a bit, in addition to the drives I've already got. (1.5TB worth of NVMEs, a smaller SSD, and a couple of old but large mechanical drives for storing stuff off). The 1TB M.2 NVMEs and SATA SSDs are in price my range, just have some other stuff to look after first.
     
  17. phumb-reh

    phumb-reh Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2019
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    373
    Location:
    Neverwhere
    While I agree that having something even though it's not the greatest is better than nothing, as I do this all the time, but this...

    Assume much? I have experienced this and worse, the worse being conscription way beyond the arctic circle.
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  18. WillyA

    WillyA Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2019
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    78
    Good for you. It's a great pity that some of the "snowflakes" don't get to have that kind of experience. I'm not sure which is worse, conscription in the Arctic Circle, or a stint in the Namib desert. You can get warm if it's cold, but you have ZERO chance in the desert when it gets HOT, One thing is for sure, both make you respect what you have in "civilization".
     
  19. Smoove Grooves

    Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    4,013
    Likes Received:
    1,488
    Whilst for large Kontakt libraries this is true, it is important to note that there are synth instruments that use no ram but which require a minimum of a 3 Ghz processor to work comfortably. And even 10 years ago there were some coming out which required it, or at least a 2.66 Ghz.
    Of those 5 Spitfire Audio libraries you mention, I have Albion (as in ONE) and I have Iceni and Tundra. But I don't really use them much anymore.
    Albion was a good all in one for ensembles, but I even sketch now with individual instruments rather than ensembles.
     
  20. Moogerfooger

    Moogerfooger Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Messages:
    858
    Likes Received:
    474
    Just be mindful when moving libraries that have been batch resaved for faster loading times, you'll need to batch resave them again.
     
  21. insaner

    insaner Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    23
    @Moogerfooger

    Are you sure? Because i have been told that a batch resave fixes the relative paths between the NKI's and the samples.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Storing Kontakt Library Forum Date
Kontakt storing samples Kontakt Aug 17, 2015
Restoring ASUS Zenbook without restore partition ? PC Aug 9, 2018
Is storing my data on SSD safer than on HDD? Computer Hardware May 10, 2018
storing 'smpl' chunk data for later repatching? Samplers, Synthesizers Sep 26, 2015
Old EWQL Libraries on Kontakt 6 (Catalina) Mac / Hackintosh Yesterday at 7:27 AM
Loading...