Steinberg Absolute 5 collection - thoughts?

Discussion in 'Software' started by garfinkle, Feb 25, 2022.

1. garfinkle

garfinkle Platinum Record

Logic user here. Ive never really spent much time with Steinberg products but I thought it might be worthwhile to give this latest gift from the sister site a trial.

Pretty weird and mixed bag in my opinion. I find the GUI's somewhat non-intuitive and disparate in their design. Some of the features in Halion are quite nice but most of the emulations are dreadful.The piano and orchestral emulations are particularly terrible.

Obviously Im a Steinberg newbie and I need to spend more time with it to better acquaint myself with the various plugins but for those for you who are longtime users - what are your thoughts on these plugs?

Last edited: Feb 25, 2022
  3. playtime

playtime Rock Star

Groove Agent is pretty good. I've bought it and skipped the rest from Absolute Collection.
    Just my 2 cents..

4. odod

odod Rock Star

i would agree w you, definitely choose different stuffs like `kontakt based or uvi based instead

5. clone

clone Audiosexual

it's like the developers are now tying to outdo one another's hd consumption. the last one I tried was Padshop, when it was released. it seemed fine, but really excessive for what I would make in it. There is also a good amount of overlap with of other products.

6. DigitHandz

DigitHandz Ultrasonic

I like all Steinberg products since I grew up on the Steinberg Hypersonic.

7. Polomo

Polomo Guest

Halion is a sampler. A real Sampler. You can record in it and use the files without Record in your DAW and Drag and Drop it.
    It feels lightning fast. I used many VSTs but this a very unique feature I saw only on a couple of VSTs and never with a whole Synth section in combination . On the GUI, I have to agree, it looks and feels a bit irritating.

• Interesting Interesting x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  8. Oneeyedstan

Oneeyedstan Platinum Record