Starting Out

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by GonzoBeat, Mar 12, 2024.

1. GonzoBeat

GonzoBeat Newbie

Hello,

I hope this is posted in the appropriate forum sub-category?

I've literally just installed Ableton and gone through some basic tutorials on the use of the software, and would hope to create some music as a hobby/interest :)

I have a little background musical theory knowledge (scales, keys, chords, etc), and would like to experiment with some EDM type tracks.

But as I'm new to all this, I'm not sure on what learning path I should take. I've added some 'samples' to the tracks in Ableton and experimented creating a song, but not sure if 'mixing; other peoples samples is the right approach?

By listening to other EDM style tracks, layers of instrumentals seems to be the basic formation of the songs, along with the intro/build/drop/etc.

Basically, I'm trying to work out - is it acceptable generally to build a track just based on samples, perhaps at this stage, or should I take another route to understand more of the fundamentals of creating my own loops, etc.

Sorry if my terminology is not the best, slate my if you wish - any criticism is constructive learning (hopefully) x

3. mondomorte

mondomorte Producer

Hi there,

In terms of whether or not to build a track based on samples - people are going to give you widely varying opinions on this. Some producers work solely using presets and sample / loop packs while others will be quite steadfast in generating and processing their own sounds from scratch.
    The latter has a learning curve many orders of magnitude larger and how far you want to get into this is something you will have discover for yourself.

Keep in mind that a sample can be the starting point for some very radical processing - it may have started out as something you found in a loop pack, but you've ended up processing and cutting it up beyond recognition into something entirely of your own making.