Speaker question - switching from guitar amps to computer based system

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by photonic, Nov 13, 2020.

1. photonic

photonic Member

Greetings. Guitar player here. Making the switch from amps to computer based system for practice and eventually hobby level home recording. Will be using Scarlet 2i2 interface, Blue Cat amp/effects software modeler, and Reaper.

My question is whether the speakers recommended by Sweetwater will be adequate. I want to have good practice room sound and adequate monitoring for eventual home recording. They recommended the JBL 305p MarkII 5" powered Studio Monitor at $150 each.

Will this be sufficient quality to fulfill my present needs?

I have no experience with this idea of using monitors to practice with or use for home recording. I am not interested in spending a fortune for decreasing audible results especially since this is my first foray into this area. My practice area is relatively small, not treated, and I don't need very high volume; just practice type volume that is clean and clear and pleasing with effects and sounds modified by the modeling software.

Thanks for any guidance you might be able to give me.

3. bluerover

bluerover Audiosexual

Welcome to the wonderful world of the music studio addiction! Those are great choices based on your requirements. You're gonna love it! I must warn you though, that this is only the beginning....

*edit* If it were me, I would look at the MOTU M2 before pulling the trigger on the Focusrite 2i2.

https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/M2--motu-m2-2x2-usb-c-audio-interface

Last edited: Nov 13, 2020
    • Like Like x 1
    • Creative Creative x 1
    • List
  4. rollerball

rollerball Platinum Record