Soundcards & Audiointerfaces

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by Someone, Feb 4, 2013.

1. Someone

Someone Noisemaker

I know this is a noob question, but I am a noob on this topic, so I have to ask stupid questions (or at least they'll seem stupid to some of you)

If I just make music with my PC and software, using nothing else, why do I need an external soundcard/audio interface for that? Wouldn't it make much more sense to buy a good onboard soundcard? I mean I connect my amplifier to my PC, nothing else happens... I dont use any micros or external synths / effects to get sound inside my PC, and I dont use anything outside of my PC. I'm just using software, and that's enough for me, so I don't see the point in buying something external...

And by the way, if you know any goog/professional onboard soundcarts which doesn't cost to much, share you knowlegde with me :wink:

And please don't post anything that wouldn't help me... Would be a waste of your and my time.

3. GanjaRa_

GanjaRa_ Newbie

latency is important, what means how long your soundcard/audiointerface needs to put out the calculated data from cpu to audiooutput.
    its adjusted with the buffersize.
    great buffersize means the cpu doent need to interupt so often its work to give data to soundscard, its cpu friendly, on the other side e.g. your buffersize is 1000ms, it takes this time to hear changes of soundparameters in your software. but for most musicains it is too long, you want to listen soundchanges right after you turned a knob.
    this means you need a soundcard what can use small buffersizes to feel/hear changes close to realtime. of course this is more work for cpu. for a buffersize e.g 10ms it needs to interupt its work every 10ms to send data to soundcard.
    audiointerfaces with ASIO-drivers became famous , because they are able to set very low buffersizes.