Sound level probs. when going from static to finished mix - help?

Discussion in 'Mixing and Mastering' started by ulrichburke, Jul 10, 2019.

1. ulrichburke

ulrichburke Newbie

Dear Anyone.

I'm an instrumental composer, 100% MIDI, can't play anything cos I'm disabled. I've read up about static mixes and setting sound levels but I hit the following probs. just about every track and cannot make the info. work!

I DO understand what things like EQ, Compression, Velocity and Panning DO but as you'll see there's a massive hole in my understanding SOMEWHERES.... OK. Here goes.

So I balance the lovely lead flute, strings, percussion and synth. pad perfectly, flute on top. It sounds great, the flute's on just about zero DB (I read somewhere the lead sound has to be on zero DB), everything nicely around it. Then I want to do a dramatic swell of strings. If I make 'em louder, they don't sound dramatic, they suddenly just sound a lot CLOSER to the flute as though the whole orch's. on rollerblades and have skated closer as one. And now they're clipping because the carefully worked out, pre-orchestral-swell levels have changed. So I try making the flute quieter to give the ILLUSION the orchestra's louder (we-e-e-lll, synth pads and strings orch, not talking full-on-Garritan here!) And the flute vanishes in the orchestra. So I use extra EQ to make a bigger hole for the flute and that works a BIT till I hit the next paragraph....