Soulshade - The First One (Synthwave)

Discussion in 'Our Music' started by Wile E., Jan 7, 2023.

1. Wile E.

Wile E. Kapellmeister

edit: Updated with video
    Hey people! This is my first attempt to produce, mix and master a Synthwave track.
    It would be useful if you could maybe take a listen and review it, as i did this with a cheap subwoofer and a pair of Presonus Eris E3.5's

Thanks in advance for your time!

Last edited: Jan 9, 2023
  3. No Avenger

No Avenger Audiosexual

- snare is moved to the left, on purpose?
    - toms could benefit from more reverb and a bit stereo spreading
    - solo synth too loud and bit too boring (I'd add a bit saturation/distortion and reverb/delay)

Other than that, a nice one.

• Love it! Love it! x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  4. Wile E.

Wile E. Kapellmeister

one-by-one on the spot! How did you do this?!?! :woot:
    - Yes, snare is about 25% to the left in an attempt to spread the stereo image (that was the easy one)
    - I inserted and deleted a reverb send for the toms for about 10 times! I thought they would be rather "cheesy" with it and kind of "weird" without it. I went for the weird :unsure:
    - The solo was initially for 4 bars, but i thought it was beautiful so i doubled it :dunno: In fact, I did have the arturia ms-20 filter/distortion on it, but there were some strange artefacts when exporting to stems. I'll have a closer look on that.

I'll follow your advice!
    I was mostly worried about a weak low end and the overall loudness/compression because this genre tends to be over-compressed and has an almost "muddy" feeling in regards to frequency balance.
    Thank you! :wink:

Last edited: Jan 8, 2023
  5. No Avenger

No Avenger Audiosexual

Surgically adjusted ears. [​IMG]
    No, honestly, this comes just with experience.

I wouldn't do this with the snare...

Depends on the reverb's sound, length and amount, right?

That's how it's done. :yes:

Nothing wrong there, IMHO.

6. reticular