Some advice needed.. (About Maschine MK2 Installation)

Discussion in 'Soundgear' started by HammerHead, Jan 20, 2019.

  1. HammerHead

    HammerHead Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    This would be a absolute no brainer for most out here.. but I am an absolute newbie when it comes to pad controllers and software installations.. I play some guitar and flute and I wanted to learn Finger Drumming and was told by a friend to look into Akai's MPD (218/226)/XR-20 and Maschine (MK1/MK2/MK3), Maschine Mikro (Mk2/MK3) devices.

    So I did some research and recently bought a Maschine MK2 (not the Mikro) from a nearby Guitar Center. As the store person mentioned, the device was unregistered properly by the previous user and I could register the serial of my Maschine MK2 with my mail Id successfully, using the Native Access Software.

    The Native Access app only lists 2 free softwares Kontakt and Reacktor Player.
    From my searches on the web I am of the belief that the 'Maschine' software is mandatory for any kind of usage of the device. Is that true?
    That software isn't available through the Native Access Application or through their website..

    And when I plug in the device, nothing happens, there is a initial splash of colors through the pads and then nothing happens..the 2 screens just display the Maschine Logo.. no buttons respond to any pressing, no knobs respond either....

    I am at a complete loss about how to proceed further.. How do I get to use it to play and learn finger drumming.. What should I do to make it workable? How do i enable it to play drums? Pls advice.. A Step by step would be so much appreciated...
     
  2.  
  3. vaiman

    vaiman Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    177
  4. Jeffriezal

    Jeffriezal Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2017
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    60
    U need to register your product/hardware serial thru your NI account first, and it will appear in your account list. You should get a lot more than Kontakt and Reaktor as I remembered. It almost over 50 product your entitled to will listed in your native access.

    But if you already registered it and still not get it, it a high possibility the previous owner already register it and only take what he/she wants.

    Try login back to your account thru their website.. checked if all registered properly or not. If have any trouble you should contact their customer support, but I got to tell you, their response usually is pretty slow and late.

    P/S: I remember back in the days after registered your product, you need to wait for at least 48 hours, kind of like approval, but that was years ago, today I don't know how they doing things.
     
  5. vaiman

    vaiman Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    177
    It's instant with Native Access. They need to register the Maschine serial that sounds like it wasn't included in the box
     
  6. HammerHead

    HammerHead Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the replies. No the Maschine serial wasnt included in the box.. As I mentioned, I was able to register the Hardware against my Id. The Native Access was displaying just 2 softwares. Can anyone please suggest the following:
    1. What is a good tool (better free) to work with my Maschine MK2 to be used as a midi controller (drum pad only).. How to do the key mapping for it? A step wise guide will be v helpful.
    2. Why is the Native Access just displaying 2 softwares. In the you tube videos, I have seen a slew of downloadable softwares..
     
  7. Jeffriezal

    Jeffriezal Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2017
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    60
    As long as you manage to install the driver and controller editor for your Maschine hardware, you can use it with any software, daw, or vsti. It runs under MCU protocol. To use maschine mk2 as a midi controller, just hold button "shift" on maschine and press control/midi button on the upper left of maschine. The mapping is pretty much like how other midi key controller works. the group ABCDEFGH button represents the octave set from lower to high.

    Like I said, all the software are tied in with the original Maschine mk2 hardware serial number, once insert and registered, all of the software will be available in your Native Access.

    The alternative, you can use the cracked version of maschine software, it can work with the hardware.
     
  8. HammerHead

    HammerHead Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    And As I mentioned, the Hardware is now properly registered under my name.. But I dont see the softwares in Native Access (besides the 2).
    Anyways, coming to the Software to use for the drumpad.. and as you mentioned .. DAW or VSTI..
    Can you kindly name a few to use (preferably free)..
    In case I use a cracked Maschine software, do I have to firewall the Maschine softwares to prevent outbound trasffic?
     
  9. Zenarcist

    Zenarcist Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,465
    Likes Received:
    1,462
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    V1.3.2 is the latest factory library which adds previews for Kits and Sounds.
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2019
  10. Jeffriezal

    Jeffriezal Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2017
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    60
    I get you, it just I feel strange, doesn't it come with any CD with it?
    If not, then its ok let us pass it.

    I don't know what DAW u used, like me, I use studio one and it came with Impact XT, the drum pad auto mapping accordingly once it load...

    I don't know much of free drum vsti, maybe someone else can chime in for a recommendation.

    Mine pretty much works with all my vsti, standalone or in a DAW. As a drum pad or keypad.

    I'm not sure how cracked Maschine works, never had to use em. But I know many reports it works with the hardware.
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2019
  11. vaiman

    vaiman Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    177
    Just checked mine, the Maschine software is "Not transferable" even on my MK3. So the previous owner has done all they can.

    The hardware is perfect for the software, it works great and come on leaps in the last few years. So I'd look at getting Maschine 2 software.
    Using it for other products is just... well there's better midi products. They are closely paired and the main reason either exists. On their own they are poo poo :)
     
  12. ThugLife

    ThugLife Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    88
    Well, I bought my Maschine studio along with a lot of my other Stuff preowned as well.
    I didn't even spend a Second thinking about your problem, because I knew there was the cracked Version which
    1. Wont let me struggle through all this bs
    2. I'll just have to install without Any of my Personal Details bla bla to use Hardware i bought legally Anyways along with this Software
    3. I knew id never buy Expansions but even if, I could still use them with it.
    4. If I choose to use cracked Expansions, I could do it, which I couldnt with the normal one
    5. I dont have proof for this in this case but as we all know there is a lot of Background checking going on which has to be turned off in Order to make a crack work, which results in better behaviour and less cpu intensity
    6. Why let NI or Any one spy more on me than i have to let them?

    And yea of course by having Said that i'd Generally block connections for warez but to be honest. In this case i dont think its that of a big Deal. Like I Said you paid for that Stuff and its Part of it.
    And yes. You can use a Maschine without the Software but that would be like driving a Lambo but NEVER EVER drive faster than 5 mph
     
  13. HammerHead

    HammerHead Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    "driving a Lambo but NEVER EVER drive faster than 5 mph" cracked me up :D
    Thanks for all the precious inputs..
    Do you know which are the processes for which I have to block outbound traffic.. or are there any other measures that I have to take?
     
  14. ThugLife

    ThugLife Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    88
    Hahaha yes this might seem funny but it really is like that. :rofl:
    A friend of Mine has a mpc Renaissance and pretends to hate the Software.
    If you ask me he just doesnt understand it.
    But watching him struggling with this excellent piece of Hardware without that Software and knowing what I can do with my Maschine and im sure you can also do with the mpc and the Software Made my hart bleed. I couldnt wait to get back to the Maschine.

    I'm Sorry I have no idea because my audio PC is always disconnected, no antivirus no Firewall.
    I'd say Editing host file would be a good idea but I dont know what to block, i'm Sorry. I Hope someone else can Help you on that.

    By the way i'm using Version 2.7.7 (R502)
     
  15. The Pirate

    The Pirate Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    2,145
    Likes Received:
    1,871
    First, you have to ask yourself the crucial question: Do I go 100% legit with Maschine or not? That is going to dictate how you go about making it work. If you go legit, keep in mind that you are going to be tied up to NI Native Access. The 59 expansions and Factory library are going to cost you way over $1000. With the legit software you MUST buy the NI Expansions and Factory Library, no way around it. I run 2.7.10 (P2P) with all expansions and Factory Library with Studio MK2. No problems!
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2019
  16. vaiman

    vaiman Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    177
    The factory library is enough, most of the expansions are ok at best. Nothing you can't do with the default library and Massive.
    There's better 3rd party expansions like 5Pin
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - advice needed (About Forum Date
Inputs, outputs, hardware & DAW - Advice needed Soundgear Dec 29, 2018
ADVICE NEEDED: Drum Noise Removal Working with Sound Dec 26, 2018
Some advice needed Mixing and Mastering Nov 7, 2017
Updating OSX Advice Needed Mac / Hackintosh Sep 18, 2017
DJ Mp3 collection advice needed. Lounge Mar 25, 2017
Loading...