Softube Console 1 MK2 (non fader), is it worth it?

Discussion in 'Soundgear' started by Warry12, Feb 23, 2020.

  1. Warry12

    Warry12 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    12
    Friend of mine is selling his Console 1 MK2 as he has no need of it any longer. For me he's willing to sell it for €150 and it comes with the standard plugins, none bought.

    Since I've been working for a few years already with plugins and plenty of paid ones. Is it worth it to buy this unit for 150 euro? Are the plugins that good?

    Cheers!
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  2.  
  3. twoheart

    twoheart Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    559
    Location:
    Share many
    Given the atual price the 150 € your fiend asks, is a steal.

    Almost everything I have read about it is positive. "Super sound" is the most commonly used phrase.
    If I were you, I'd grab it and if you don't really like it, resell it for 250€. :mates:
     
  4. Jeffriezal

    Jeffriezal Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2017
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    83
    just grab it... Console 1 is way more functional than Console Fader.. im using it.. 150$ it is a steal... the 4000E come wit it is a beast.. the drive and character knob are a killer... like twoheart said, you can buy to try it first... if u dont like it.. u can sell it easily..
     
  5. The Pirate

    The Pirate Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    3,776
    Likes Received:
    3,051
    The hardware alone for $150 is a steal as long as you can get it transfer to your iLok. One thing I don't understand is when you said that it does come with "standard plugins, none bought." The standard Console 1 plugin is the Solid State Logic SL 4000 E. Excellent emulation and so is its British Class A and American Class A. On top of that, there are more than 70 Console 1 ready plug-ins available from Softube and Universal Audio. If you don't want to buy it, I will pay you $230 for it. Send me a PM.
     
  6. Warry12

    Warry12 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    12
    When you buy the console 1, you get the 4000E with it, other than that you can buy many other plugins for it too. So, what I meant it that it comes with the standard plugins. In this case just the 4000E and it inclused the Ilok transfer. :)

    I've heard some really good stuff about Console 1... I guess I just buy and and see..
     
  7. The Pirate

    The Pirate Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    3,776
    Likes Received:
    3,051
    You will be happy, just like the majority of us who have been using it.:like: BTW, the British and American Class A are being offered with $100 off of each one's price.
     
  8. Warry12

    Warry12 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    12
    Cool. How does it work with other cracked Ilok software though? I'm slowly buying everything, but am not there yet.
     
  9. The Pirate

    The Pirate Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    3,776
    Likes Received:
    3,051
    There are no problems at all with "non legit" iLok software. Once you have the hardware authorized you can use Audiotopia's release of Console 1 and get the extra SSL 9000 XL to work with it. Just keep in mind that after Audiotopia's release there have been several updates to Console 1.
     
  10. NextGenSound

    NextGenSound Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    36
    I own it and I would highly recommend it just for the transient and gate section alone...The eq, compressor and character sections are icing on the cake...U won’t regret the purchase!
     
  11. Warry12

    Warry12 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    12
    How about other software other than softube, they will still work?
     
  12. The Pirate

    The Pirate Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    3,776
    Likes Received:
    3,051
    Yes, but not with the Console 1 hardware. Only plugins that work with it are Softube and UAD. Console 1 is not going to interfere with any plugins.
     
  13. Warry12

    Warry12 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    12
    Cool, was worried a bit those might not be working anymore. Thanks for the answers mate and everyone else in the topic.

    Will buy it and see how good it is! :)
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Softube Console (non Forum Date
Softube introduces Console 1 Fader Soundgear Oct 25, 2019
Softube Console 1 - any limitations using hardware with software? Soundgear Apr 20, 2019
Softube Console 1 On Screen Display Not working Software Apr 19, 2019
Softube Console 1 in Ableton Mixing and Mastering Feb 10, 2018
Softube Console one Owners ?? Studio One Jan 31, 2018
Loading...