So... checking mono is a very important thing it seems

Discussion in 'Mixing and Mastering' started by Backtired, Aug 4, 2016.

1. Backtired

Backtired Audiosexual

You know, I'm not an expert, but I enjoy making music.

When I made a rave/dance track (I even posted it here, not spamming it in this thread though) I thought I nailed the mixing perfectly. The sound was clean, the kick and the bass were awesome (well it was just an offbeat bass, nothing really complex in that regard) and... it actually was. I really like that song.

Well, guess what. Today I was reading about Ozone mastering plugins and the I really wanted to learn the vectorscope from the Imager (or really, more about the imaging and stuff like that).

Me: "Hey, I never checked this mix in mono. The vectorscope says that there might be some phase issues. Well as long as sounds don't disappear it should be fine, no?" After checking the track in mono some parts are good, but some other parts are just horrible! Literally, a synth lead that comes around 6 minutes just disappeared. What I did with that synth was make it really spread across the stereo image, I thought it was really cool. Well what ended up happening was that with delay and stuff like that I guess it got phase-cancelled.

So today I learnt that checking your mix in mono is a thing to do while mixing, not after you release the track :bleh:

So if you're looking for a question, I have one. What can I do when I'm spreading sounds (especially synths and sustained notes) to make sure that there will be no phase related issues? I like the sounds of a wide spread synth, but I want it to be audible in mono as well.

Thanks
    - a guy who just got his morale destroyed because his best track is now poop

3. 6ixcore

6ixcore Producer