Small Clicks In Sound With Focusrite Scarlett 18i20

Discussion in 'Mac / Hackintosh' started by MrAnonymous, Mar 8, 2015.

  1. MrAnonymous

    MrAnonymous Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    110
    Hey guys/girls

    I just finished getting my hackintosh up and running with mavericks and am experiencing small clicks when using my Audio Interface and i dont know what is doing it as all my stuff is compatible (apart from wifi but im buying a adapter for that)


    Questions yous may ask:

    When do you experience the clicks?

    When ever i am listening to Music, working in Logic or watching a movie so pretty much all the time.

    Do you experience these clicks when you are not using the Audio Interface?

    No.

    Describe the clicks

    little clicks about 5 seconds apart.

    What driver do you have installed?

    1.8

    Thanks in advance
     
  2.  
  3. Baxter

    Baxter Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,078
    Likes Received:
    983
    Location:
    Sweden
    What sample-rate? What buffer size?
     
  4. Pipotron3000

    Pipotron3000 Rock Star

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    397
    search for "Speedstep Hackintosh", it may help.
    You can try to disable all CPU power management features in the BIOS, to see if it helps.

    You will get better answers on TonyBridge, InsanelyMac :wink:
     
  5. Grzesiek

    Grzesiek Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1

    Attached Files:

  6. Recoil

    Recoil Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2017
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    260
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    • List
  7. Grzesiek

    Grzesiek Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sweet, thx.
     
  8. sir jack spratsky

    sir jack spratsky Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    54
    disable wifi adapter...works with my focusrite saffire...
     
  9. Grzesiek

    Grzesiek Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    I don't have one. I tried to manually disable multiply devices and it didn't work
     
  10. Daskeladden

    Daskeladden Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    11
    Grzesiek have you tested it with Asio4All just to see if it's a driver problem?
     
  11. Grzesiek

    Grzesiek Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, i have asio4all too and it doesn't help.
     
  12. Daskeladden

    Daskeladden Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    11
    The next thing you should do is to test it on another pc, if the same things happens there you should get you're money back
     
  13. boomoperator

    boomoperator Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    84
    But before that, and to quote @Baxter: What sample-rate? What buffer size?
    When using SPDIF loopback it’s important that the sample-rate matches in-, output and player-settings.
    Your music is probably 44.1 Khz, so check that above settings match this samplerate (or a different one when your musicfile is different).
    A samplerate mismatch can lead to the problems I’m hearing.
     
  14. Grzesiek

    Grzesiek Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Audio sample is 44.1 kHz and it was recorded with 1024 samples buffer size, but it doesn't really matter which buffer size I would set to because only 512 would be stutter/glitch free for me. Audio sample which i presented to you is the exact representation of the audio I'm hearing from my speakers while listening to music etc. It's not affected because of the S/PDIF input/output, don't worry. If it was it would be different than the audio I hear in real time.
     
  15. Recoil

    Recoil Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2017
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    260
    Try to use DPC Latency Checker, it should display the moment in which is the click, it will come out if it's a hardware or system fault.

    http://www.thesycon.de/eng/latency_check.shtml

    You will have to check it on the windows system, for sure, I'm sorry I do not have MAC OS.
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2018
  16. Daskeladden

    Daskeladden Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    11
    do not use DPC Latency Checker on windows 10, it does not read correct. Use LatencyMon: http://www.resplendence.com/latencymon
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Small Clicks Sound Forum Date
Small studio mic for voice and guitars? Studio Mar 9, 2018
Just a small part of my new work Our Music Sep 23, 2017
Recording vocals outdoors/ small room Working with Sound Jul 11, 2017
Have I made a mistake by signing my tracks to small labels? Lounge Mar 25, 2017
Paying a small monthly fee for access to legal software Software Feb 28, 2017
Loading...