Slow graphics on new Imac [Cubase 8.5]

Discussion in 'Mac / Hackintosh' started by eK3000, Aug 25, 2017.

1. eK3000

eK3000 Newbie

Hi,

I recently bought a new Imac and installed my Cubase 8.5.3.

I noticed after installing few plugins on it (all legal) that the events\clips take time to respond when i move them across the timeline, as you can see in the video:

After the event 'sticks' to the mouse curser it move normally, but when i release it and grab it again to move it, it take almost a second to 'stick' to the cursor ones again.

I noticed all the graphics are relatively slow.

What should I do? I'm completely new to mac so be specific

Thanks

3. tzzsmk

tzzsmk Audiosexual

exact imac specs?

4. eK3000

eK3000 Newbie

Mac OS Sierra

Version 10.12.5

Processor 4.2 GHz Intel Core i7

Memory 16 GB 2400 MHz DDR4

Graphics Radeon Pro 580 8192 MB

5. saltwater

saltwater Guest

is this a 5k ?
    unfortunately cubase has some issues with graphic performance on high res macs for some time now
    i suggest you to read the different threads in the Steinberg forums.
    there are some workarounds, like reducing the resolution.

logic runs buttery smooth, you could give that a shot since its pretty similar to cubase.

6. Vaijj

Vaijj Platinum Record

Not a Mac user but yes Cubase have some issues with graphics on some machines. I work with it in some studios but there are fixes for it. C9 have new issues but the some old one are gone. In your case i cant really say what causing it other than what saltwater say read up on cubase forum. Stick to your cubase and work out the solution for your Mac.. i still havnt been in a studio or a friend that hasnt been able to work it out.

7. dazz

dazz Ultrasonic

i can see a bunch of stuff running at the top of the screen so whats running in the background ....

8. eK3000

eK3000 Newbie