SL88 Grand owners: How do you calibrate the velocity curve for virtual instruments?

Discussion in 'Studio' started by holdup13, Sep 2, 2022.

1. holdup13

holdup13 Kapellmeister

How do you calibrate the velocity curve for virtual instruments? Is there any "preset" calibration settings? I've been playing with this midi controller for a couple of months and I find myself changing the velocity curve quite a lot, sometimes I feel it very soft, sometimes very hard.

BTW, I'm not asking how to literally change the velocity curve (I know how to do that), but rather, how I should calibrate it to properly match the velocity range/curve of most virtual instruments (i.e. pianoteq, arturia).

Last edited: Sep 2, 2022
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  3. Xupito

Xupito Audiosexual

As far as I know there's no consensus about this. So you have to (continue to) make it your own, be it in your MIDI hardware controller or with a MIDI plugin. Yeah, it sucks.

4. holdup13

holdup13 Kapellmeister

The thing is that I'm not a professional keyboardist, and I bought this fine midi keyboard with weighted keys to learn with the feel of a real piano (or close to it). I'm now confused because I can't tell if it's my playing style or the velocity curve that's wrong. It could be both. I'm afraid that if I adjust the curve to adapt to my poor playing technique then all the practice will be somewhat worthless if I ever switch to a real piano. So I want to calibrate it to a more "flat" or neutral response, if you will.

5. clone

clone Audiosexual

It's going to happen either way, you will always have to adjust your playing. A 10 centimeter shorter ski does not alter the size of the mountain, does it? Boats built for specific tide? etc. You'll have to deal with it either way.

6. Xupito

Xupito Audiosexual

I see... I'd look for more information on the manufacturer's site or other users of your keyboard. Like here;