Should I finish a vocal first or the entire vocals at the same time?

Discussion in 'Mixing and Mastering' started by Kuuhaku, Feb 24, 2020.

1. Kuuhaku

Kuuhaku Platinum Record

Hey, I am a little new to mixing, so i have this doubt, I was mixing (cutting unwanted frequencies, leveling, etc...) then i come to the part where I will add things, but I only started the mix in one of a 3 vocals part (the verse of the song), the artist has provide me 3 vocals, but every one of them are really thick and full, so, after finishing the first part of the mix on the main one, I come with this question:
    1- Should I finish every other vocals first part of the mix and then start adding reverb, delay, fx etc..
    or
    2- Should I finish the entire mix of the first vocal and then start the mix of the other ones?
    (and why?)

• Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  3. tun

tun Rock Star

personally i would throw all the vocal recordings on to one track (assuming its not different voices) and arrange them into the track so they are on one channel, then balance them and smaller parts within them so the whole channel has a nice general balance, then start work from there. even all EQ cuts and levelling etc will happen after that point.
    from there i would start to apply personal touch processing, such as reverb, delay, etc so they are all equally balanced.

this helps keep the vocal track (or any other kind of track) as a whole peice raher than seperate recordings.

if you are talking about 3 seperate recordings of seperate parts of the track completely, eg a main vocal, a secondary vocal and a chorus with 10 people, then i would process each one completely individually and seperate from each other, but of course with each other in mind at all times.

edit: