Should I disable Dolby Audio in my laptop or not?

Discussion in 'Mixing and Mastering' started by GoldenEar, Sep 19, 2019.

  1. GoldenEar

    GoldenEar Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    29
    Should I disable Dolby Audio in my laptop or not? Will dolby audio help me in mixing and mastering (translation wise) or will it not? Comments?
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • Nasty Nasty x 1
    • List
  2.  
  3. McRoi

    McRoi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    8
    TURN DAT SHIT OFF
     
  4. 5teezo

    5teezo Rock Star

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    886
    Likes Received:
    437
    LOL x2 for Mixing AND Mastering on Laptop Speakers.

    If you do that on Laptop Speakers it actually doesn't matter at all, because it won't translate either way.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Dislike Dislike x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • List
  5. No Avenger

    No Avenger Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    3,089
    Likes Received:
    2,171
    Location:
    Europe
    Well, as so often, that depends.
    If you're using the laptop speakers there's a chance they sound better with Dolby. But as @5teezo already correctly said, no matter with or without Dolby, you can't mix or master with these speakers properly.

    If you're using studio monitors with your laptop, than ofc turn Dolby off!
     
    • Winner Winner x 2
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • List
  6. GoldenEar

    GoldenEar Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    29
    Its not "laptop speakers". Its a software integrated in my laptop. Im mixing on studio monitors and also studio headphones. So before commenting please understand the question. :yes: thanks
     
  7. GoldenEar

    GoldenEar Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    29
    Thank you for the reply. I appreciate it/ :yes:
     
  8. 5teezo

    5teezo Rock Star

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    886
    Likes Received:
    437
    Maybe if you have stated this in the first place then I wouldn't have assumed otherwise. Since you call yourself GoldenEar, you should have noticed that the sound totally changes if Dolby Atmos is enabled… thanks.
     
  9. GoldenEar

    GoldenEar Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    29
    Thank you for the reply. I appreciate it. :yes:
     
  10. GoldenEar

    GoldenEar Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    29
    But laptop speakers is not mentioned. I said "dolby audio" not laptop speakers. :)
     
  11. 5teezo

    5teezo Rock Star

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    886
    Likes Received:
    437
    You said "Laptop" and "Dolby" in the same sentence. What you didn't say was "AUDIO INTERFACE" and "MONITORS"… Anyway you have your answer now.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Should disable Dolby Forum Date
San Holo Remixes Sufjan Stevens ‘Should Have Known Better’ Remix Lab With Anna Lunoe Electronic Today at 5:38 PM
Vocal harmony? Should it follow functional harmony? Mixing and Mastering Saturday at 11:40 PM
Cheaply priced plugins we should avoid Software Nov 26, 2019
AMD should be getting serious attention from software developers now! PC Nov 24, 2019
How many reverb and delay should I use? Mixing and Mastering Nov 23, 2019
Loading...