Serum Installation Issues (serial not working)

Discussion in 'Mac / Hackintosh' started by graphixsounds, Feb 16, 2016.

  1. graphixsounds

    graphixsounds Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    My serum serial seems to be timebombing. does anyone know an uninstall/reinstall plan that could get serum to work?

    osx 10.10.5

    Serum version: 1.017

    MANY THANKS!
     
  2.  
  3. graphixsounds

    graphixsounds Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. graphixsounds

    graphixsounds Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    bump.

    after 15 minutes of use the serial no longer works and everytime i reopen serum it needs a new serial generated
     
  5. twoheart

    twoheart Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    Share many
    I don't get that problem.
    Works like a charm: Serum 1.0.7b4 R2R on Win 10 x64
     
  6. twoheart

    twoheart Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    Share many
    Seems to be a check of the serial#. Try to disable the internet connection: If the plugin itself could determin if the serial is wrong it would do it in the moment of entry. It seems it checks after 15 mins (via internet?). So I think (hope for you), an internet connection block would do the job. :)
     
  7. graphixsounds

    graphixsounds Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok- i use little snitch and block all of abletons outgoing connections
     
  8. statik

    statik Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    322
    Location:
    under your bed
    might wanna use cleanmymac to uninstall if needed
     
  9. Enoch007

    Enoch007 Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    63
    • Funny Funny x 5
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  10. MozartEstLa

    MozartEstLa Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    174
    Location:
    France
    Hi, for non legit (R2R keygenning) be careful about license key : it will work until you'll save any preset (existing or new). Save features acting like timebomb. By opening new Serum instance later, serial is asked again. Occurs on Windows platforms (not patched plugin), but I don't know about MacOS sorry.
     
  11. graphixsounds

    graphixsounds Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone know where serum hides hidden files on a mac? maybe its about deleting those in addition to a reinstall
     
  12. PsYAuM

    PsYAuM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    16
    I'm having issues updating past 1.6.0.8
    I have done permission reset i have installed and generated the key yet when I start it is 1.6.0.8
    There is also no option to use the generated key
    OS X 10.9.5
    Any suggestions much appreciated
     
  13. tidus1990

    tidus1990 Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    75
    As far as Im concerned there no no mac working versions. Only the first couple of releases do not timebomb. Not worth it since there are many improvements in the newer versions. Also most recent preset packs wont work. I would advice to purchase it if you feel like you really need it.
     
  14. google

    google Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    2
    so is there a fix for PC?
     
  15. MozartEstLa

    MozartEstLa Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    174
    Location:
    France
    Some PC versions you'll can find on brother website are prepatched (by unknown team) but not all of them. Of course the best way (for now) is to find unaltered and prepatched to understand the crack mechanism.
     
  16. SmokerNzt

    SmokerNzt Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    85
    1.open terminal and type this
    sudo rm -rf /Library/Audio/Presets/Xfer\ Records
    sudo rm -rf /Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/VST/Serum.vst
    sudo rm -rf /Library/Application\ Support/Avid/Audio/Plug-Ins/Serum.aaxplugin
    sudo rm -rf /Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/Components/Serum.component
    sudo rm -rf ~/Library/Audio/Presets/Xfer Records/Serum

    2. open terminal type this and add this lines
    sudo nano /etc/hosts

    3. add this lines
    127.0.0.1 www.xferrecords.com
    127.0.0.1 104.28.21.50

    4. press control + X then press Y to save it

    done!!!



     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2016
    • Like Like x 4
    • Dislike Dislike x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  17. PsYAuM

    PsYAuM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    16
    I've noticed the update works within BC patchwork
     
  18. sisyphus

    sisyphus Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    238
    Nice post SmikerNzt! Have you found this has been a solid solution, and if so, what version of Serum are you running?
     
  19. doesntmatter

    doesntmatter Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    this is straight up garbage... if you do this it completely fucks up ur serum and its no where to find- it deletes your presets, and serum as a whole.... dont follow his steps !
     
  20. SmokerNzt

    SmokerNzt Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    85
    yes it delete it completely ,that's exactly what it do.
    in order to reinstall it , and block the traffic .
    if you don't understand what this commands then why you fallow them ? .

    rm = remove
    -rf = folder
     
  21. SOURLITO

    SOURLITO Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    JUST DO 3RD STEP AND EVERYTHING SHOULD WORK
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Serum Installation Issues Forum Date
Xfer Serum no preset installation button Software Aug 16, 2017
creating sylenth sound in serum Working with Sound Aug 29, 2018
Festival Season Vol 2 For Xfer Serum + Skin Selling / Buying Aug 14, 2018
Xfer Serum 121b4 crashing ableton 10.0.2 Software Jul 28, 2018
Build your own serum skin with ease Selling / Buying Jul 23, 2018
Loading...