[SEEMS ANSWERED] Extracting GUI files from VST and vice-versa?

Discussion in 'Software' started by DrumcodeX, Feb 14, 2023.

1. DrumcodeX

DrumcodeX Platinum Record

This is related to recent releases on AZ and some comments on them.
    It's about GUI editing in general, but specifically on how to extract multiple .png files from a .dll and bringing them back into the .dll again. The first part, the extracting, has been answered in the comments on AZ. But not the second part, how to bring the files back again. And the crucial part is to do it in bunches. It's easy to replace a few PNGs one by one. But it would be awful to replace hundreds of PNGs one by one.
    I'm sure it's relatively easy to achieve this, but I did quite some web searching and couldn't find a solution to this specific task. I'm also not a coder or graphics guru, so my background knowledge about all this is pretty basic.

To make more obvious what I mean I'm using FM8 by NI as an example.
    When opening the .dll with i.e. ResourceHacker there's a subdirectory "PICTURE" containing 305 resources. I've learned on AZ that saving the group to an RC file will not only spit out the .rc file, but also 305 .bin files. Those .bin files will turn out to be regular .png files simply by renaming the extension (bulk rename tool advisable).

[​IMG]

Now let's say I modified all those files, what I actually did by batch processing.
    How do I bring them back into Resource Hacker? Again, all of them, not one by one.
    I tried several things but it doesn't make sense to explain what it was, because all of it was more or less fishing in the dark.

Any advise would be appreciated,
    thx

• Interesting Interesting x 2
    • Creative Creative x 1
    • List
  3. BlackWinny

BlackWinny Platinum Record

It is done by a script. You have an example in the middle of this help page:
    http://www.angusj.com/resourcehacker/