Samplitude: VstPlugins.ini

Discussion in 'Samplitude' started by au38wzh, May 29, 2016.

1. au38wzh

au38wzh Platinum Record

It seems 'VstPlugins.ini' in (hidden) 'ProgramData'-folder ->MAGIX->Samplitude Pro X2 Suite
    is the key to solve issues with 3rd party VST's in Samplitude.
    At least I solved my problems in samplitude by 'tweaking' 'VstPlugins.ini'.

I wonder how exactly this entries in 'VstPlugins.ini' work in Samplitude:

-DirectoryRecursionDepth=(digit, e.g. 3)
    -DirectoryDisplayDepth=(digit, e.g. 3)
    -ScanSystemPaths=-1

(I'm a Samplitude newbie. I used to work on PC with Logic 5, then till now Studio One 1+2 - Don't like S1-3, that's why I check Samplitude.)

Thanks for any reply :)

3. Talmi

Talmi Audiosexual

Best Answer
    I was gonna explain that on your other post. The first two lines are important. First one defines how many folders sam will scan after you you choose your vst folder. The second defines how many folder will appear. So the number depends how you classify your vsts. I have many folders and I put 6 on both lines. DON'T touch the -1 or it will create problems.
    So you have to do as follow to reset the whole thing. First define the way to your personnal vst folder in samplitude, then click in vst option in samplitude "Scan system VST folders", click apply and close Sam, it will probably scan, it's annoyiung because we are going to make him scan again, but well, it always does that. Then in vstplugins.ini, erase all your plugins that were previously scanned (NOT the ones that are included in Sam, delete the lines after Vita Arp which should be the last of the included plugins. Restart Sam and it will scan all your plugins properly and show them in order.
    I hope that's clear, let me know if some part of this procedure isn't, I'll try to help.

• Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  4. peghead

peghead Producer

Thank you Talmi.
    That is exactly what I needed to know

5. au38wzh