Sample production nessesary audio Formats and how to sell

Discussion in 'Education' started by Nima, Jan 16, 2014.

1. Nima

Nima Noisemaker

Hi Guys,

I,m producing a Drum and Percussion Loop Library (Acoustic-Electro Modern Latin and Oriental Dance). My first Volume is now about to finishing and has about 2000 loops.

The first Question is which formats are necessary to offer?

I want to offer my Library in Wave (not acidized) and RX2.
    PC users are covered with these formats I think.
    Mac users can use Wave too but I have no Experience with mac. Should I convert the files to AIFF and Apple wave format too?

The second Question is, What is the best way to sell the product? Should I offer my work over Profi shops like loop-masters or over my own webpage?
    My concern is, what when after one month I see my work in Websites like 'AUDIOZ'.
    Saint will not permit this to happen in Audioz but there are hundred other websites. :(

Anyway I hope I can use Your Experiences.

Thanks in Advance :bow:

3. SyNtH.

SyNtH. Platinum Record

i think over the last few years apple have fully integrated 32 bit wav capability for playing and for editing (logic, garageband etc...). In terms of space and in general most people use 24 bit at their exporting standard. I think it would be a waste to offer aiff and wav within the pack, you are probably better with 24 bit wavs and rex2 for the library. You also might want to consider splitting it up into two separate libraries, 2000 loops is quite big! This way you could potentially make more money and have more potential customers because you can lower the price for each individual volume. You might also want to consider looking into the exs24 format as well, i am not a mac user by any means nor do i know enough about how many people use exs24 but in many packs (not so much the recent ones) i see ex24 folders.

Also combine it with your own experiences and judgements: