Sample based beats questions

Discussion in 'Rap, Hip-Hop, R&B' started by peshti, Feb 24, 2020.

1. peshti

peshti Member

So I'll admit this, I'm not that experienced when it comes to sample based beats but I'm just curious. I have lately thought about this crazy idea to try my hand at some other genres and find out stuff that I can play with and use in my main genre.

Anyways here is something that I have always thought about, do people put effects/creative mixing choices to the main sample in samplebased hip hop/rap beats?

I'm not talking about drums, I'm talking about the actual sample.

Like do people put reverb, delay, distortion, compressor etc.

Why I'm wondering this is that when you use a main sample it has already been processed so does it even make sense to add effects/creative mixing or will the sample just get muddy?

Any insight on this would be appreciated!

Thanks

3. tun

tun Rock Star

what do you mean by the main sample? although it doesnt really matter because the same applies.

the most important thing to remember here is to use what you need to use to get the results you want, and if you do not know why you are doing something then do not do it.
    if you are using a sample from a sample pack that has already been processed you might find you do not need to do anything else to it other than things needed to blend it into your mix, or you might find that you need to completely change it using effects, splicing or whatever.
    both are okay and everything in between.

4. Soul1975

Soul1975 Platinum Record

Like tun said, if you're using a sample from a pack it's been processed so you might not necessarily want to apply effects before you start composng the beat. But, that's still kind of an either or.

As far as sampling an actual song, that's an either or also.