S1 5.4 is impressive

Discussion in 'Studio One' started by Wolfang, Sep 15, 2021.

  1. Wolfang

    Wolfang Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    57
    The dev team definitely optimized S1 finally. I opened the same project in 5.4 which spiked CPU in the previous version, and it's rock-solid so far. It drops half of the CPU usage.
    Plus, another project was frozen while it was loading and when it restarted, it showed which plugin caused the issue. So, I was able to load it finally.
    The performance is getting close to Reaper. Awesome!
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2021
    • Like Like x 8
    • Interesting Interesting x 5
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  2.  
  3. jordan77

    jordan77 Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    20
    I never tested S1 neither Reaper or Reason, and I really want to try one f them. Been using ableton 10+ years.
    Which one would u recommend? Looking just to have some fun experience, a different workflow
     
  4. The cleanest prophet

    The cleanest prophet Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2021
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    13
    For fun, I’d say Reason. It’s a unique work flow with the racks and patching that you can get very creative with.

    I’m a studio one user, but more because it’s a really well made DAW but I wouldn’t say it’s particularly a fun or creative tool, same for reaper. They’re just solid daw’s that will let you work efficiently for recording, mixing etc.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Interesting Interesting x 2
    • List
  5. Euphonic

    Euphonic Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    16
    Close to Reaper? Are you sure about that? I will test it! I have a legit copy of S15
     
  6. Ankit

    Ankit Rock Star

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    464
    Location:
    Horsehead Nebula
    What OS and processor? M1 chip?
     
  7. Wolfang

    Wolfang Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    57
    I strongly recommend you S1. Intuitive, great workflow, lightweight and etc. I barely complain with this DAW.

    Reaper is another lightweight DAW with tons of features in small size as long as you can handle overwhelming menus and complicated workflow.

    I only used Reason a week and it was not so bad as I thought. So, I can't tell u about it in detail.
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
    • Like Like x 2
    • List
  8. Wolfang

    Wolfang Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    57
    You won't be able to find other DAWs are lightweight and solid except these two in the market. Reaper is still lighter though.
    Try Cubase, ProTools and Ableton.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Disagree Disagree x 2
    • List
  9. Domo

    Domo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2021
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Ireland/Germany
    maybe a good point where you can start with a monthly subscription.

    i still wait for improvements like chainable VSTi midi plugins in one Track channel and detachable browser window and 3rd party Midi effects usable in midi effects slots.
     
  10. odod

    odod Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    239
    AFAIK for this latest version of S1 the loading time is quite fast .. almost REAPER alike
    very good improvement!
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  11. Wolfang

    Wolfang Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2019
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    57
    Interesting. Could you give us some examples? I didn’t find any fun/creative part when I used it. Reason was pretty resource friendly, so I’m curious.
     
  12. droplet

    droplet Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2020
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    230
    Location:
    not hidden enough
    I went from ableton to reaper. i learrned a lot. watch the videos. Since changing I tried ableton only for a few minutes in 3 months.
    no reason to go back. keeping live 10 only as legacy. If I have to reinstall it I probably won't. Studio one is good too.
     
  13. The Revenant

    The Revenant Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    239
    They still haven't implemented the so basic option which all lovers of earlier Linn/MPC famous drum machines are waiting for: a midi file export at low resolution (48PPQN / 48 Pulse Per Quarter Note). Why this feature (available in Cubase and Reaper since their first release!) is so important? To recreate THE magical swing groove of these old gems.

    Explanation:

    https://www.alyjameslab.com/alyjameslabvlinn.html#collapseThree (Click on "ABOUT THE SEQUENCER AND LEGENDARY GROOVE" or read the manual)

    https://www.attackmagazine.com/features/interview/roger-linn-swing-groove-magic-mpc-timing/
     
  14. Smoove Grooves

    Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    4,993
    Likes Received:
    1,867
    Incorrect!
    One initially has to change the PPQN of the project to be able to USE legit 48PPQN MIDI files that DID correctly capture the groove from them.
    And then any MIDI file you export will be true to the PPQN, obviously.
    And all daws that are industry standard can do this.
    But FL has trouble runnning a project at normal PPQN rates, which is why the deafult project boots in 48 PPQN and thus why everyong thinks FL is better for Hip Hop! :rofl::deep_facepalm:

    IF you are saying that you can record MIDI in the standard rates of 960 PPQN +, but it will magically quantize & convert that somehow down to export as 48 PPQN, then that is perhaps useful for someone. Who knows?
    Because it is kind of irrelevant, don't you think?
    When you can make it already in 48 PPQN?! haha
     
  15. Karate Grownup

    Karate Grownup Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2020
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    84
    Agree about loading time. It opens much faster.
     
  16. The Revenant

    The Revenant Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    239
    Please explain me how to record a midi drum track in 48 PPQN with Studio One, I'm curious...
     
  17. Smoove Grooves

    Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    4,993
    Likes Received:
    1,867
    You should be able to set the PPQN rate in any daw.
    I haven't used S1 in that way, only tested it out for other things.
    Please can you answer this question? :
    Wait! No daw does exactly that! lol
    But if you can't change the project PPQN of your daw and record in 48 PPQN, or 480, or even an up-to-date, as per tape resolution capture of your MIDI playing, it's a face-palm! Believe.
    "Exporting" MIDI is daw 101.
    You seem to imply some daws can especially do specifically what you said.
    Which ones, please...:dunno:
    :yes:
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2021
  18. The cleanest prophet

    The cleanest prophet Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2021
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    13
    yeah it’s still not as efficient as reaper in terms of CPU. S1 uses double the amount on my system for virtual instruments

    My system is more than good enough for any project I use in S1 so it doesn’t matter much but It’s still certainly not close to reaper in that regard. Well, at least from what I can see
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  19. acatnamedharmony

    acatnamedharmony Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    14
    Thanks for the heads up! I've been getting really frustrated at how much S1 has been crashing and doing wonky things for me lately. So I'll definitely give it a go =)
     
  20. mrrnr

    mrrnr Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    34
    This is so Awesome.. Helps with CPU usage (Enable) Plug-in Nap "Feature"

    5.4 - Performance and Stability Improvements "Plug-in Nap "Feature"
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  21. The Revenant

    The Revenant Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    239
    You're wrong. Cubase can export midi file in the resolution you want:

    https://steinberg.help/cubase_pro_a...rack_handling_export_options_for_midi_files_r

    Reaper also let you chose the midi export resolution.

    So speak about things you know, not about thinks you don't. And read Aly James' VPROM manual to understand what I mean. Thanks.
     
    • Dislike Dislike x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
Loading...
Similar Threads - impressive Forum Date
Real Eight is pretty impressive Software Jul 28, 2019
Best/Famous mixes with vocals mixed shockingly (and/or impressively) low. Mixing and Mastering Nov 8, 2017
Impressive Drummers Lounge Aug 7, 2014
Impressive free emulation of Oberheim OB-x (OBXD VST/AU) Software Feb 24, 2014
Loading...