repairing disk error

Discussion in 'PC' started by funkman, Jul 27, 2022.

  1. funkman

    funkman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2019
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    8
    hi,last week i done inplace reinstall of windows 10,as cubase instruments were comming up as no license found.i had tried loads of solutions but had to go for the dreaded reinstall,and it worked.
    but of course i have to reinstall all vsts which takes long time
    anyway,in proced of doing that and now i got blue screen,and pc restarts doing repairing disk errors.
    takes ages and keeps looping on this
    again,i have googled,and looks like windows reinstall again!
    could it be a virus from some of the plugs i was installing?
    i recall when i was installing reaktor 6.4 i got a warning from windows defender.
    it was to do with the keygen.
    keygens always flag up warnings though dont they?
     
  2.  
  3. PifPafPif

    PifPafPif Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2022
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    208
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  4. clone

    clone Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2021
    Messages:
    2,565
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    keygens will almost always give a false positive report on virus software and testing websites. (of course, this would make them a pretty smart place to put one, if someone was so inclined.)

    If you formatted the entire physical disk, the only place a virus really can hide after that is your boot sector/master boot record. (memory, but you should have also rebooted). Very few virii actually do this behavior, especially in 2022. Think like CIH/NYB era! 1995ish was the glory days of the good old boot sector virus. :)
     
  5. funkman

    funkman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2019
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    8
    i didnt format the entire disc when reinstalling windows,i dont inplace reinstall,keeping files.
     
  6. funkman

    funkman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2019
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    8
    i put recovery thingy on usb to go into recovery mode.
    in the command prompt instead of flashing at C its X
    Whats that all about?
     
  7. clone

    clone Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2021
    Messages:
    2,565
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    oh. if I was suspecting a windows virus, I would format that sucker from a USB key based OS. so you can use tools like Libparted or Gparted. QTparted. a partition tool where you can delete/rebuild the partitions and so on. Then clean format. Then OS install fresh. Do the recovery instead, but check everything out before you install everything again.

    But it sounds to me like you really encountered your problems with Cubase. I used to use it many years ago, and installing it immediately after installing windows and your soundcard/audio interface software/drivers always worked best. then your editor and whatever plugins.

    Otherwise I would waste my time thinking it was possibly a failed disk. But it's cubase induced, is my guess. Installing Cubase onto an existing/in-use widows installation is sort of slipshod, and can be like a house of cards. A big install/format loop. Do it all cleanly and you can look into everything later. The worst news, is that if you like cubase; it's worth this sort of stuff.
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2022
  8. funkman

    funkman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2019
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    8
    i did reinstall cubase and plugins after i reinstalled windows
    cubase was working fine
    i was in process of continuing to reinstall 3rd party plugins
     
  9. funkman

    funkman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2019
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    8
    when i go into command prompt in recovery mode im getting X instead of C
    i already tried sfc scannow with the x command but it did not work
    i could try it with letters after scannow,would that perphaps work?
     
  10. twoheart

    twoheart Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,710
    Likes Received:
    1,012
    Location:
    Share many
    To boot to console mode the OS is only a very stripped down version lying on the X: drive so that the C: drive is not in use an you can reach it for special oprations.
    The normal C: drive is mapped to D: in this case.
     
  11. funkman

    funkman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2019
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    8
    so do i type D then instead of X?
     
  12. yodadl

    yodadl Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2022
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi,
    Very first thing to do is a check disk, so type in recovery : chkdsk C: /F
    If you suspect that your disk is damaged, try chkdsk C: /R
    It will scan the entire disk for defective clusters (this is VERY long!!)
    If you 're not sure of your system letter, please type "C:" and then "dir" to see if the windows directory is there, if not try D:

    sfc /scannow is intended to be used in normal or safe mode, not in recovery mode.
    In recovery mode you have to specify offline mode :

    sfc /scannow /offbootdir=c:\ /offwindir=c:\windows
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  13. funkman

    funkman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2019
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    8
    hi,just to clarify , i type this? : chkdsk C: /F
    not sure if the 2 dots needed(cant remeber name for them)
     
  14. twoheart

    twoheart Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,710
    Likes Received:
    1,012
    Location:
    Share many
    it depends on the driveletter your system disk actually has in DOS mode.
    To find your system drive you need to list all drives with their actual drive letter and name.
    Type in:
    wmic logicaldisk get deviceid, volumename, description
    at promt, so you'll see what driveletter your system disk has in this context.

    Then type in chkdsk driveLetter: /F /R

    (e.g.: chkdsk D: /F /R)
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2022
  15. yodadl

    yodadl Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2022
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Exactly "chkdsk C: /F" without quotes.
    Don't type the first 2 dots, only the one after the system drive letter.
     
  16. PersonneAudioZ

    PersonneAudioZ Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Algéria
    Pure waste of time in addition to the risk of killing your HD !

    Take courage, completely format your HD , and reinstall everything . This is the most drastic solution . And you will have a brand new system .

    Because even if you manage to get your system back on its feet, there will always be problems and doubts!

    What you are doing is like having a stain on a fabric and trying to remove it with detergent you are making it bigger...

    Courage !

    My respects to all of you! :bow:
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Disagree Disagree x 2
    • List

    Attached Files:

  17. twoheart

    twoheart Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,710
    Likes Received:
    1,012
    Location:
    Share many
    May be.
    If there are disk errors building up even this could be a waste of time. In this case it's better to install on a new system disk/SSD.
    I won't never trust in system disk with errors.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  18. yodadl

    yodadl Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2022
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    That would not be a good advice. If the disk has damaged sectors, formating and reinstalling won't solve any issue, assuming you could go through the whole process.

    You have to know if the disk is reliable before having any other consideration. If it is safe, you can either try to repair or format, but the disk has to be in decent condition in both cases.
     
  19. PifPafPif

    PifPafPif Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2022
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    208
    I"m a computer tech for 30 years.
    And i can tell you the FIRST thing to do with strange HDD behaviour is HARDWARE check.

    Another solution : use HDD maker tool to do a fast diagnostic.
    It takes only some minutes, and will tell you about defective clusters and such.

    Each maker make his own diagnostic tool.
     
  20. funkman

    funkman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2019
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    8
    i
    Is HDD Maker tool a thing?
     
  21. twoheart

    twoheart Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,710
    Likes Received:
    1,012
    Location:
    Share many
    As @PifPafPif said, best take the tool from your drive vendor:
    https://www.lifewire.com/free-hard-drive-testing-programs-2626183

    P.S.: If you really have a HDD as system disk and have the money to buy an SSD, I would not longer spend time on it and buy a new SSD and reinstall Windows. If the HDD is more or less ok you can use it for storage later on.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - repairing disk error Forum Date
Repairing Audio Hardware Soundgear Mar 12, 2017
help repairing cheap sub Soundgear Aug 2, 2015
Can a hard disk be damaged by low space? Computer Hardware Aug 22, 2022
Superior Drummer 3/ EZDrummer 3 Killing My SSD (huge data writing to disk) Software Jul 27, 2022
Hardware in my new home studio - DAW selection, disk organization PC Jun 24, 2022
Loading...