Rekordbox - where is the mixer section? and other question

Discussion in 'DJ' started by djf, Feb 29, 2024.

1. djf

djf Guest

Hi everyone!

I am new to Rekordbox and trying to learn it. I have some questions I cant find answers to.

In the newest R2R release I cant find where is the mixer section with EQ and volume fader? Is that release not the full Rekordbox and missing features? Is there another older release that does have the mixer section? For me, it is essential to have the mix section for practicing.

I don't like using "Beat Sync" because I learned on turntables so I am used to doing the push/pull nudge type of beat alignment while mixing, but I do find it is pretty accurate and works well if I am trying to also play live instruments over a song or whatever while a beat (or two) is playing. I have never used the new CDJ decks or mixer, only ones from like 10 years ago, so can I setup Beat Sync ON in Rekordbox and then when I plugin my USB stick the CDJs automatically have sync ON or will I need to menu dive or something to activate it manually on each CDJ?

Also related to that question, where in Rekordbox is the nudge or push/pull jog wheels to manually align beats like when using vinyl records? I only found the pitch up/down nudge buttons which dont return to normal after you hit it, they stay at the increased speed and pitch, or I am doing it wrong.

My next question. When I make a song set playlist and then put on USB, when I plugin to CDJ all songs will show up on all CDJ decks that are linked, but if its the same exact list when mixing songs how to know which song is next in the order so I wont make a mistake and play the same song twice?

Is there a way to assign a playlist or color code each song so when using the CDJs I can easily see something like this below:

CDJ 1 ---- CDJ 2
    CDJ 1/Song 1 ----- CDJ 2/Song 2
    CDJ 1/Song 3 ----- CDJ 2/Song 4
    CDJ 1/Song 5 ----- CDJ 2/Song 6
    etc.... ​

[​IMG]