Reboot and select proper boot device

Discussion in 'PC' started by koschke, Feb 25, 2018.

  1. koschke

    koschke Noisemaker

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hello Audioz Family,

    I have big issue with my win 7 hard drive...
    It gives me the error
    reboot and select proper boot device or insert boot media
    first thought Hdd is broken....
    I tried to switch the cable and put it to other sata ports but no luck also tried to repair it with the windows installer stick but the command line fixboot or chkdsk did not worked.
    i get allways the same message
    boot device or insert boot media
    So my last step was to put it to another pc where I have windows 10 installed and it showed up not as the boot hdd but as a normal hard drive. So the hard drive is working but I cant boot from it anymore
    So any ideas how I can boot from the Drive....
    thanks in advance
     
  2.  
  3. T3NR@

    [email protected] Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    29
    Your master boot record is shot. Google "fix win 7 mbr", the first result will probably help you.
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Useful Useful x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  4. quadcore64

    quadcore64 Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    189
    This is a common Windows 7 & earlier issue for sure. You could spend days trying to fix the drives boot record or, copy the needed data
    from your Windows 7 drive while it is in the other machine.

    Then you can do a low level drive error test which will most likely wipe all data but, if fixed (damage area restored), you can reinstall Windows & bring the saved data back. I assume you need to save projects and such.

    Good luck.
     
  5. momo

    momo Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    402
    Location:
    Floating Amongst the Stars
    hi download the win 7 iso you can get it here or from torrents
    https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows7

    Burn it to dvd on your working pc then start up your win 7 put it in then restart the pc
    and chouse boot from cd/dvd ,when it loads up chouse repair and with some luck it should be ok.
    if it don't work you could try this.
     
    • Useful Useful x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  6. Olymoon

    Olymoon Impossible is not a fact. It is an opinion. Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    1,593
    Likes Received:
    763
    IF you can, mount the drive in another machine and backup what is important for you.
    Then, do the mbr repair thing.
    If this does not work ... Dont lose your time, this drive will give more and more problem, even used as a slave.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  7. T3NR@

    [email protected] Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    29
    I had a job in IT (and related) diagnostics and repair, most of my mbr problems were just random hdd brainfarts and there was only one or two times where the hdd was in real trouble. I've had only one mbr corruption with 4 drives, never anything serious. So, yes, if you have precious data, do make a backup but a corrupt mbr is not a fatal diagnosis.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  8. Paul Pi

    Paul Pi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    London
    The replies above are most probably right on the money (and this reply probably too late...) but for reference it's often also a good idea to go into your system BIOS (repeatedly hitting the DEL key a couple seconds after you hit the power button generally does the trick on most consumer computers) to check what's going on in the BIOS boot order settings - to firstly ensure (1) that the system HD is being recognised Pre-OS and (2) that the BIOS hasn't been reset/corrupted (low/dead BIOS battery, power spike or some such) - cos if you've a number of different HDDs on your system and this occurs it really can screw with your (presumptive) drive boot order - meaning that the BIOS no longer points to the correct system HD and therefore Windows simply doesn't know where to locate the MBR in the first instance... I say this 'cos the error message you gave could definitely due to BIOS corruption, though as mentioned before it could just be the MBR that's gone gaga...
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2018
  9. fraifikmushi

    fraifikmushi Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    1,830
    Likes Received:
    693
    No it's not, you're right, but since rebuilding the mbr will most likely result in loss of the previous partition table and therefore all data on that disk, accessing the drive from another device and backing up the stuff is not such a bad idea.
     
  10. alexbach

    alexbach Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. Rockysinha

    Rockysinha Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    I also have the same issue but I have found that Disabling Legacy boot will resolve this issue but I don't know how to do this please anyone here who can help me to resolve this.
     
  12. alexbach

    alexbach Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can try calling the support team but I think this link might have enough solutions to fix your issue.
     
  13. Rockysinha

    Rockysinha Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes, this solution really helped. Thanks for mentioning it.
     
  14. SineWave

    SineWave Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,393
    Likes Received:
    1,315
    Location:
    The darkest pit of my mind
    You have tried bootrec /fixboot, but have you tried bootrec /fixmbr? You should do both when fixing master boot record. Doing bootrec /rebuildbcd is also not a bad idea, but I'd do it if the first two didn't help.

    If that doesn't help, either the HDD is going bad, or BIOS is corrupted. Try loading setup defaults in that case.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
Loading...
Similar Threads - Reboot select proper Forum Date
Windows Cleaner to avoid constant reboots after changes Software Oct 20, 2018
The feds want you to reboot router Now! [VPNfilter] Industry News May 26, 2018
X-Fi audio drivers stop working after a few reboots Computer Hardware Jul 14, 2017
My PC reboots by itself! Computer Hardware Mar 28, 2014
Selective memory (for people who have left AS) Lounge Oct 15, 2018
Loading...