REAPER Routing Issues. Please help.

Discussion in 'Reaper' started by notremid, Nov 8, 2016.

  1. notremid

    notremid Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    61
    So I am facing these problems and would appreciate some insight-

    Here's the issue-

    a. I create a track with MIDI data using a vsti and use the "Explode MIDI item by pitch note" command to separate each element into individual tracks (I am programming drums mostly) so that I can process them separately. (eg. compress only the kick or reverb on only the snare)

    b. But I face two problems now-
    1.) I cannot freeze or render the individual tracks (eg. freeze only the kick drum track). If I do the clip just disappears(freeze) or becomes a silent audio file (render)

    2.) I cannot "send" the output of any of these exploded tracks (eg. I want to send only the snare to a reverb buss track). This is my main problem.

    Some Vsts like Kontakt, Suerior Drummer etc allow multiple-output and that makes it easy to route stuff. But is there any way I can configure my other virtual instruments to make them multi-out as well?


    This is pretty frustrating. Any help appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2.  
  3. noise.maker

    noise.maker Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    58
  4. sham69

    sham69 Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    France
    HI there,

    I'm no expert here, but you may tell us

    1/ which VSTi you are using for your drums,

    2/ It's not you or reaper that will make a VSTi handling multi-outputs,

    it had to be done by the developper, then if it's the case you have to configure the routing in Reaper.

    That being said, I never use the "Explode MIDI item by pitch note" command,

    I am mainly using Kontakt and decide to use one track by patches/nki, that way I don't have to configure anything

    and if I am programming drums or percussions and want to mix one "sound" individually I just copy some items on new track(s) with the same nki, them mute "notes" accordingly in items, hopes it's clear enough.
     
  5. jaganshi

    jaganshi Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    23
    The problem is that you are splitting the input MIDI signal, rather than the output audio signal. Regardless of the number of input, they all sum before triggering your Vsti. Therefore, you need to find a way to split the output signal to different channels, e.g. Kick to 1-2, Snare to 3-4, by either using different Vsti/Patch for each sound, or different output channel for each sound if your Vsti allows it.
     
  6. tulamide

    tulamide Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    736
    It isn't very difficult, you only need to understand what you're doing. As jaganshi said, you're splitting the midi signal per note. You are not changing the midi channel nor change any audio setting. So, each of your drum sounds are still outputted to 1&2.
    But instead of thinking in complex routing patterns, just do this:
    1) Solo an individual midi track.
    2) Render the track to a new audio track (render, not freeze)
    3) Repeat until all tracks are rendered.
    4) Activate your fx of choice to the newly rendered, seperated audio tracks.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - REAPER Routing Issues Forum Date
Reaper Tip/Trick: Maschine VSTi routing. Reaper Mar 3, 2017
Reaper Tip/Trick: changing the "feel/flow" of a MIDI sequence easy. Reaper Tuesday at 7:43 PM
Any REAPER guy for mixing? Mixing and Mastering Aug 1, 2017
Reaper and Audiotopia vsts? Software Jun 29, 2017
Reaper not Recognizing my Behringer UMC204 MIDI in port Reaper Jun 15, 2017
Loading...