Reaper and Kontakt Don't Mix Well...?

Discussion in 'Reaper' started by BooBam, Mar 2, 2018.

1. BooBam

BooBam Ultrasonic

I am new to Reaper and am having issues with Kontakt in Reaper.
    Seems really bad when more than one track has Kontakt loaded.
    And when trying to use some instruments I get an error saying the sample library has not been intitialized.
    Nothing I do will load those instruments. It also takes a very long time to close an instrument, sometimes more than a minute. Reaper will even freeze or crash.

Anyone else run into this...or am I maybe not doing something I should be?

Thanks much for any and all feedback.

3. tvandlover

tvandlover Producer

I think you will need to give more information if you are to get any help.......specs of pc/mac x32/x64 ......your Operating system version
    Which version of Kontakt legit or other. and if other which distribution symlink or not etc. There is already a heap of stuff about this very subject here on this site good luck

4. playtime

playtime Rock Star

Reaper v5.76 x64, Win 7 Ultimate SP1 x64

No issues whatsoever here with Kontakt 5.5.0 and Portable 5.7.1 (except portable is loading slower by nature)
    Maybe you need to create proper routing for Kontakt. There are pre-made Kontakt track templates on Reaper stash. If you can't find them just let me know and I'll send it to you :wink:

Last edited: Mar 2, 2018
  5. tvandlover

tvandlover Producer

No problems here with 5.7.3 portable win 7 x64 either but if the op is having probs we need to know a bit more.

6. Andrew

Andrew AudioSEX Maestro Staff Member

Exactly. The freezing is caused by Kontakt instance which have no I/O activated. The easiest solution is to arm the track before you open the Kontakt interface.

7. BooBam

BooBam Ultrasonic