Quick loading?

Discussion in 'Kontakt' started by Highdom, Jul 19, 2017.

1. Highdom

Highdom Kapellmeister

I use Kontakt a lot but often loading an instrument could take few minutes, for bigger ones. How to optimize the speed of loading instruments in Kontakt via software?
    And what about hardware? I use an iMac 21.5 with 5400rpm HDD and 8 ram 1600 mhz. Should I increase the Ram/buy a new one faster or change the HDD to an SSD at first?

• Interesting Interesting x 2
    • List
  3. Alpha0ne

Alpha0ne Producer

ssd + 16-32gb ram

4. Kwissbeats

Kwissbeats Audiosexual

An SSD would speed up the loading, inserting extra ram would mean you can load more instances.

I would go for the ssd, but remember, SSD's have a considerable price difference GB a dollar in comparison with an HDD.

so buying it for the Hans Zimmer piano library and other libraries will add up considerably.

5. Jambuw

Jambuw Member

Best Answer
    I am by no means an expert, but I read somewhere that a batch resave will shorten the loading time of a library. I tried it and it worked. The best way to perform this:
    Click on the small arrow on the right bottom of the library you wish to perform the batch resave on: Open containing folder( This will identify the selected folder)
    Press the small disk symbol on the top right of the Kontak GUI
    Scroll down to Batch re-save (A warning will appear.....) Really proceed? YES
    Navigate to the selected library.....The one you opened previously
    It will complete the process and should shorten the loading time!!

• Like Like x 3
    • Useful Useful x 2
    • List
  6. sisyphus

sisyphus Rock Star

I've always wondered: Does batch re-saving make it difficult to use it with another system? For example, if I batch resave something and take it to another computer with another Kontakt install (same version), will it have any problems? I guess I just don't quite understand how it works.... (But I bet Pinkman does! ;))