Question - Midi control to change VST preset

Discussion in 'FL Studio' started by halfman73, Jul 8, 2020.

  1. halfman73

    halfman73 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello all

    I'm relatively new to FL Studio and just got a Nektar LX61+ yesterday. I've been setting the LX up in FL and assigning various settings in VSTs to the knobs/sliders on the controller. All good so far but I can't figure out one thing.

    Is it possible to assign the "prev preset" or "next preset" of a VST to two buttons on the Nektar controller? If so, where would I start with this?

    Thanks!
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  2.  
  3. ElMoreno

    ElMoreno Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    16
    I have not this keyboard (I would) :yes: but you can do what you want...
    See here at minute 2:38 :mates:
     
  4. recycle

    recycle Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    466
    Location:
    motherboard
    Nektar LX has a great integration with certain daw:
    Bitwig, Cubase, Digital Performer, FL Studio, GarageBand, Logic, Nuendo, Reaper, Reason, Sonar and Studio One

    Unfortunately for me Ableton is not on their list: sold it
     
  5. minozheros

    minozheros Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    64
    http://midi.teragonaudio.com/tech/midispec/pgm.htm

    The midi protocol handles changing presets in a different way natively, so it might or might not work depending on whether the vst has the prev/next buttons midi assignable or if the DAW supports it. If the controller supports it over a different protocol like osc or whatever it might work as well, but to my knowledge it is not a standard midi feature because the midi protocol simply is too old, there just were no softsynths when it was created.
    I don't think a lot of vst plugins handle program change messages, so I guess it mostly depends on the DAW support of your controller. I dont even know if all vsts handle changing programs in a standardized way, they should but i am not totally sure about it.
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2020
  6. halfman73

    halfman73 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks all. I got as far as getting it to work via a python script, but only for one vst. Unless I can find a relatively simple solution with third party software, I'll just have to stop being lazy and use the mouse to change presets :)
     
  7. minozheros

    minozheros Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    64
    Just think about the amount of presets you could have changed during all that time you spent looking for a solution to that problem :) I guess it does suck that it is not something that can be done easily as it should be one of the most basic functions of a decent controller you would think.
     
  8. DoubleTake

    DoubleTake Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Messages:
    870
    Likes Received:
    424
    Midi Program Change has been around forever, and it is a failure of the VSTi developer to not allow it to be mapped to presets.
    And another failure if they don't at LEAST allow preset selection to be mapped to a controller.
    Passing the buck to the DAW is ... passing the buck.
    Well, that is my arrogant assertion, anyway.
     
  9. odod

    odod Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    90
    i own Nektar LX61+ .. only few VSTi worked automatically, the rests you have to MIDI learn it
     
  10. minozheros

    minozheros Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    64
    Because the controllers are integrated into and handled by the DAW and not the VSTs it might be the best approach to let the DAW deal with it. It is not about shifting the blame or passing the buck rather about following the signal flow and separate the responsibilities so that you can build a more effective system. If you minimize the interfaces you have to maintain and handle you minimize your possible points of failure too meaning if the DAW already knows how to switch a preset on a vst, let the DAW do it and don't teach the controller to do it by himself. Rather have the controller ask the DAW to switch the preset and have the DAW do it. Otherwise you will have the controller do one thing and the DAW do something else at the same time and the end result becomes unpredictable.
    In general it will make your life much easier if you only have one person responsible for a certain task because you know who is to blame if it is not done correctly.
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2020
  11. DoubleTake

    DoubleTake Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Messages:
    870
    Likes Received:
    424
    Yes, but isn't the current problem that NEITHER is doing it?
    Better to have the option than no option.
    I am assuming there may be better ways to change presets depending on how they are implemented in the VSTi, but to at least have the option even if not enabled or assigned by default to avoid conflicts.
    If they can be changed by the mouse, it seems sensible to program in some kind of mapping.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Question Midi control Forum Date
Midi Control Program Question PC Aug 7, 2012
Midi Question FL Studio Jun 1, 2020
A Question Regarding Recently Released ToonTrack MIDI Packs Presets, Patches Dec 16, 2019
Ableton - MIDI routing questions for the advanced users Live Jan 26, 2018
MIDI Question: CC to Note Working with Sound Jul 29, 2017
Loading...