Question about multiple articulations as separate samples

Discussion in 'Kontakt' started by Liedom, Jul 2, 2018.

  1. Liedom

    Liedom Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Mainly talking about things like Berlin Woodwinds where each articulation is represented by different samples altogether. I KNOW that there's a way to set it up so that you can have custom keyswitches to switch between each sample, I just don't know how. I've looked everywhere and can't find a good tutorial. Perhaps it's my search terms.

    Can someone help me out? Linking a youtube video or something would be great as well or an easy-to-understand explanation?
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  2.  
  3. Peter Krav

    Peter Krav Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2017
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Завод Юпітер
    @Liedom Is this what you are looking for?
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  4. Liedom

    Liedom Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    aww I love that guy. No, but close. He's loading a product that has several articulations baked into one interface. I'm more concerned with the sample libraries I have that require me to load new instruments for different articulations.

    For example, Berlin Woodwinds has a different patch for a bunch of different articulations. Let's say I want one instrument with as many articulations as possible on the same instrument. Let's say that in my DAW I've got one track that says "Oboe". I'm using Berlin WW's. I have a piece of music that requires different articulations within the same phrase. It would be silly to have a bunch of different tracks playing little chunks of the phrase that have different articulations. How do I set it up so that I can switch to different patches on one channel?

    FYI Using Studio One 4
     
  5. No Avenger

    No Avenger Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,124
    Likes Received:
    791
    Location:
    Europe
    Excerpt from the manual "Almost all features of our single patches are available, too, via the wrench button in our multi patches"

    upload_2018-7-2_23-22-5.png
    (from Woodwinds manual)

    But this isn't what you're looking for, did I get this right?
     
  6. Paul Pi

    Paul Pi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    London
    If i understand you correctly...

    To switch between the different articulations you need merely select the approprate keyswitches in the C0 - B0 range...

    On the Berlin Woodwinds 'Flute1 multi' patch for example, the instrument itself is available in the C3 - C6 range whereas the actual key switches are set betwen C0 - B0 (i.e. three octaves below) so to select the sustained flute patch you have to press the lowest C key (C0) on a keyboard or through midi, whereas the stacatto is set to be keyed two semitones up (i.e. D0).

    To add custom articulations, select a blank articulation slot and choose the articulation you're interested in from the drop-down menu that appears:

    keyswitches.jpg

    Hope this helps?
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2018
  7. Liedom

    Liedom Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hey, guys - Something I forgot to mention - assume I haven't gotten any updates that includes the Capsule functionality. Assume that the only thing I am able to do is load the individual articulations into Kontakt one by one.

    I seem to remember there was some kind of script for Kontakt that addressed this. I just can't remember what it was.
     
  8. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    508
    Location:
    Where machine gun effect means dead bodies
    I think the first utility for Kontakt was developed by Orange Tree Samples, one of the best Kontakt scripters.
    And recently I think I saw another one here, but don't remember.

    Anyway, I think you need a MIDI remapper. Can be a MIDI effect plugin (midi effects are technically considered VSTi) or can be one of the former Kontakt MIDI scripts.

    You load all the strings patches in Kontakt, assign a different channel like the guy in the vid, save that as a multi instrument (.nkm)

    Then you can remap any MIDI message that you like as a KeySwitch. Let's say you want to play Staccato (and staccato is listening the Channel 2 in Kontakt) when you use the C1 note as a Keyswitch for staccatos.

    To do this you set a rule in your MIDI remapper: if the input is C1 (along the "real" note, say, G3) the output G3 but only in channel 2.

    It's harder to explain than to do it. The most difficult thing is that the rule has to remain active until another keyswitch change it. So the MIDI util should have "memory".

    There's tons of MIDI remappers/filters. There are for Kontakt, I use a MIDI VST(i) one because I use non-Kontakt complex intruments (mainly Ample Sound guitars).

    I hope this helps you, or at least, to someone lol
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  9. Liedom

    Liedom Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Oh! Bingo! Orange Tree makes a script called the KS Router. There's even a tutorial on YouTube. Anyone else searching for a solution to this problem, google KS Router, download it and watch the tutorial.
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  10. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    508
    Location:
    Where machine gun effect means dead bodies
    Check out also "CC Router" from the same Orange Tree website. It's newer and perhaps would work for your needs too.

    These guys really know their shit.
     
  11. Liedom

    Liedom Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2018
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    huh, I'll check it out. Pretty sure this is EXACTLY what I was looking for. You're the best.
     
  12. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    508
    Location:
    Where machine gun effect means dead bodies
    Glad to help :wink:
    Enjoy the tool
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Question multiple articulations Forum Date
(SOLVED)Question about multiple .rar extractions (Omnisphere) Software Apr 28, 2016
Chord Progressions 101 (multiple questions) Education Jan 26, 2016
Multiple monitoring question Studio Aug 10, 2015
Question about extracting multiple .rar and .zip PC Oct 5, 2013
I have an outdoor gig in 7 hours and I have questions about the setup... general discussion Jun 16, 2018
Loading...