PT12.5 Slow on Windows 10

Discussion in 'Pro Tools' started by MaXe1, Jan 10, 2020.

  1. MaXe1

    MaXe1 Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2019
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    23
    I have searched, searched, and searched. But whatever I have tried seems not to fix the slow interface. In addition, having an NViDiA graphics card has made the situation worse. Pro Tools 12.5 is laggy and somehow slower than PT 10. PT 10 is much better but the problem is plugin support. Most of the new releases are not compatible with PT10 or not recognized even if they support that plugin format.
    Have you found any working solution for Windows using PT12.5 AudioUTOPiA?
    Is not there any ways to just disable the gui extra features and make it simple and fast?
    *Please answer the question don't offer me to use Reaper!
     
  2.  
  3. anon69

    anon69 Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2019
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    22
    What are your system specs. I have 12.5 AudioUtopia running great on my windows 10 build along side a legit pro tools 2019.
     
  4. MaXe1

    MaXe1 Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2019
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    23
    CPU Core i7 - 6700HQ
    Graphics card Nvidia GTX 1060
    Hard Disk SSD
    RAM 16 GB
     
  5. albackwardz

    albackwardz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    10
    Run 12.3 it's much more stable.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  6. korte1975

    korte1975 Guest

    agree - 12.3 is super stable indeed, never had a crash/freeze.
     
  7. Who Me

    Who Me Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    65
    No lagging problems here, & use it pretty much everyday on large sessions.

    V12.5 AudioUTOPiA
    Windows 10 (updated)
    Nvidia video card also.

    There used to be known issues around densely edited sessions lagging when scrolling around the edit page, bt none that I experience (not like in previous versions).
     
  8. indianwebking

    indianwebking Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    139
    how do I run pro tools ? in Windows?
     
  9. boomoperator

    boomoperator Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    166
    Maybe a single (AAX) plugin is responsible for your slow behaviour. To find out if that's the case, you could put them all in the (-Unused) folder, See if that helps, then putting them back in the Plug-Ins folder 1 by 1:
    https://help.uaudio.com/hc/en-us/articles/207326386-Hiding-Plug-Ins-in-Pro-Tools-11-and-Later.
    Further, did you have Windows choose the graphics driver, or did you install it yourself?
    Last, I'm sure you already followed the Avid Guidelines when in trouble:
    http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/en_US/troubleshooting/en349411?popup=true
     
  10. tzzsmk

    tzzsmk Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    1,214
    Likes Received:
    707
    Location:
    Heart of Europe
    anything strange to observe in resmon (resource monitor)?
     
  11. MaXe1

    MaXe1 Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2019
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    23
    It is not plugins. I have already tested this method.
    Indeed, when I chop one audio clip into pieces and for instance time stretch them the performance gets worse and lag becomes a bit more obvious.
    Nothing strange in resource monitor. But with latency monitor I get,
    1.png
    and
    2.png
    In addition, even if I turn off WiFi. The lag remains, and if I chop a clip (Number of clips in clip list increase) the problem gets worse.
    I have tested 12.3 - It is tiny bit better, the problem remains for me in 12.3 too.
    But in Pro Tools 10, it is much better, it is like I don't have that gui lag(By lag I mean slowness, like when I hit space bar I feel there is a delay for audio playback, or when I put dots in automation clip I see a delay in putting actual dots there, but in PT 10 the dots of automation would happen as soon as I click with mouse- I mean it is instantly there)
    I have seen videos on Youtube for opitimizing win 10, even 7 or any damn version of Windows to just get some extra tips. None of them worked.
    Totally frustrated.
     
  12. tzzsmk

    tzzsmk Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    1,214
    Likes Received:
    707
    Location:
    Heart of Europe
    disable onboard network interface (and wifi) and observe any possible improvements,
    if so, check on manufacturer website if newer certified drivers are available for your network interface(s) - often Windows pushes generic drivers which fuck things up
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  13. MaXe1

    MaXe1 Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2019
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    23
    When I turn off WiFi it gets better. But again, Nvidia Kernel Mode driver would be on the top in LatencyMon. I already have NViDiA driver installed. I am somehow sure, whatever it is, since the gui lags, it is related to the graphics card. The problem is I have no clue to even think about solving it. It just happens not to work. Do you guys have installed Game Ready Driver or Studio driver from NViDiA website for your graphics card?
     
  14. safwen baya

    safwen baya Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    8
    for me its running stable but sometimes the GUI glitches when im workin on large sessions.. anyone experinced that?
    I7 9700k, RX570, 16G 3200MHz, SSD
    Windows 10 (latest)
    PT 12.5 AudioUtopia
     
  15. indianwebking

    indianwebking Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    139
    can anyone give me pro tools link for Windows in pm? can't find it in sis site. come on
     
  16. MaXe1

    MaXe1 Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2019
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    23
    Can you stop asking irrelevant question in someone else's topic?
     
  17. tzzsmk

    tzzsmk Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    1,214
    Likes Received:
    707
    Location:
    Heart of Europe
    I always use game-ready drivers, usually not latest though,
    and I don't install GeForce Experience at all,
    and also block any nVidia apps from accessing network (with NetLimiter)
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  18. Metallium

    Metallium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2019
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    12
    I have tried to use the PT12.5 version many times and always had this issue. If you google about it and I assume you did, you will find many people having this pain. They say to don't run it with edited clips in your session. This may help a bit but, for me, it didn't solve this problem. I always had consolitaded clips and the slow thing still happening. Seems this issue happens in some scenarios (or hardware specs, if you wish) but I never found a real response since modern hardware is getting this too. So I do prefer don't take any risk with my sessions and I still use the 12.3v instead. I would love to upgrade it to 12.5 so if you find any solution, please, share it with us. I will really love it! Good luck!
    Cheers!

    Note: I always had this under Win7. I just installed the Win10 last December 2019 so I didn't try the 12.5 with the new drivers for Win10. Who knows if it will run fine now...It depends the hardware, as I said., but I did prefer to keep the stable 12.3 for now. I don't even know if this is really a driver (nvidea) thing. I have seen on the foruns around people complaing about ATI Radeon drivers too.
    :dunno:
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2020
  19. Metallium

    Metallium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2019
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    12
    One more thing to know:
    I remember when both of them were release from AudioUTOPIA. The 12.5 came right after the 12.3 and this thing started happening. "Expert" people around came to say it was not well cracked as the 12.3 did. It came too fast just right after the offical Avid release.
    So maybe this is a reason. Maybe they needed more time to do it right...who knows.
    On other hand many people say they use it without no problem. For me and for you it didn't work right.
    I commend you to use the 12.3v. They are quite equal...almost the same features. You know that maybe this digital stuffs may fail and to brake all your sessions.
    Let's us know if you find something...I have been winting fot this so long since it came or any team around bring us the Ultimate version.
    :wink:
     
  20. MaXe1

    MaXe1 Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2019
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    23
    Thanks for your replies. I do hope one of the teams at least reviews already unlocked versions and fixes these issues. Bringing the ultimate version might not happen since AudioUTOPiA is gone forever.
     
  21. Metallium

    Metallium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2019
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    12
    Hum...I didn't know about AudioUTOPIA. Really? So bad...
    I think R2R could do that but they seems don't care about PT...They got S1, Reaper releases...no PT.
    So let's use the 12.3 forever!
    :disco:
    :rofl:
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - PT12 Slow Windows Forum Date
ABLETON REWIRE IN PT12 Pro Tools May 18, 2020
Eternal problems with PT12 Video Engine !!!! hate AVID Pro Tools Mar 12, 2019
Installation help Waves PT12 Mac Software Jun 21, 2017
Latest Izotope plugs working in PT12 under WIn7 Software May 31, 2017
Bluecat Patchworks, PT12 and Kontakt 5.3 Software Oct 22, 2016
Loading...