professional sound vs mine

Discussion in 'Working with Sound' started by samsome, May 8, 2020.

1. samsome

samsome Guest

so i used Reason's Orkester ochestral sounds i'm new to this, i was thinking to test Eastwest monthly subscription thing to get better sounds
    The first one that will play is the professional one
    The second one is what i try to recreate it somehow
    can you tell me how close to the professional thing that is? like 10%?
    can i get it to like 50% if i try more? or should i just get better sounds?
    https://screenrec.com/share/PQBLH5m3oO

3. Lieglein

Lieglein Audiosexual

Like 10% but you can get like 50% if you use some staccatos.

• Agree Agree x 2
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  4. No Avenger

No Avenger Moderator Staff Member

You also need to pan the violins to the left and add violas panned to the right. And then add an appropriate reverb.

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  5. samsome

samsome Guest

where did you learn these techniques? just checking any good source to learn from

thanks

Last edited by a moderator: May 9, 2020
  6. No Avenger

No Avenger Moderator Staff Member

Sorry, I can't tell you a specific source, meanwhile I can hear it. But maybe this is of some help:

[​IMG]
    But these positions are not fixed. As you can hear in your example the basses are centered.

[​IMG]

• Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  7. vaiman

vaiman Platinum Record

You can easily get 80% there with modern samples. But there's a big learning curve.
    As No Avenger has pointed out, you need to know orchestration, who plays what and where these instruments sit in the sonic space.

I'm away now, but I can mock up the midi quickly this weekend and post it for you.

EastWest Hollywood is still one of the best, and there's a new version coming out 'Opus Edition'. But the interface is a nightmare if I'm honest. So I would hold out personally for the new one.