Professional Recording Studio Gear

Discussion in 'Soundgear' started by hell666, Oct 7, 2021.

1. hell666

hell666 Member

Hey guys! So, this is my first post and maybe this could be a stupid question, but I thought it is better to ask anyway, hope you can help me with this :)

So, I have been practicing and learning a lot for a few years recording, mixing and mastering in my small home studio, using a laptop and audient id4 interface.

I haven been thinking a lot for the past few weeks and I decided that it is time to move on to the next level.

I have been saving some money to finally build my dream business: a professional recording studio, and a friend of mine will also putting money to be my business partner.

Before I start building the studio, I have so much questions and doubts, I hope you can help me please:

I have been recording using Audient id4 interface and mixing / mastering with plugins only, and I want to mix and master using only plugins in the new studio too.

So, I was thinking in buying the PreSonus StudioLive 32SX Digital Mixer to cover everything the customers needs.

My questions are:

-Do I need a Digital Mixer? Or do I need a really good interface with extra channels (I need 32), and a DAW Controller? Or what other thing do I need?
    -What other things do I need to build a professional recording studio in your opinion? I will mix and master mostly using plugins only.

Thank you guys, I appreciate any help!

:mates::mates::mates:

3. BEAT16

BEAT16 Audiosexual

Question: Do the musicians come to your studio with their instruments? If so, you need a real mixer. If the musicians send you a WAV file, you don't need to buy a mixer.

4. No Doz

No Doz Producer

my suggestion would just be a unit that has comfortable faders, whether that's a full mix board or just a DAW controller