Production tips....

Discussion in 'Working with Sound' started by thegerman1220, Mar 13, 2016.

1. thegerman1220

thegerman1220 Member

I've been producing on and off for a few years now and I've come across a few things that have my life easier when working in my DAW (currently Logic Pro X, but i've also used Studio One and Ableton extensively). I hope that someone just starting off can benefit from these points. If you have useful tips that have helped you in your journey, please add them....

- Track template: I have a template set with a basic kick, claps, and hats to serve as a starting point. In this template, there are a bunch of AUX tracks ready to be used for bussing (all set to 100% wet of course): 4 Reverbs (small, med, large, and XL tail) using different plugins, so they don't all sound the same. 5 delays (1/16, 1/8, 1/4, 1/2, and 3/16 (8th note triplet? not sure if that's called something else)), with decent feedback (round 75% worked best for me). All followed by an EQ to cut the low and high-shelve the highs. Through trial and error, this has been the most versatile for me to work with. This setup allows me to send audio to the busses as needed without having to worry about setting up delays & reverb on the fly.

- Automation: Instead of selecting from the list of parameters I want to automate (was it filter 1 cutoff? or filter 1 + 2? which setting am i looking for? ah fuck, back to the plugin), i set the automation option to Latch, press play, then wiggle the parameter in question. That'll write the correct parameter into the automation lane....just be sure you set the option back to Read right afterwards.

- Gain Automation: Although I try not to automate gain too much, i've found it easier to add a utility/gain plug-in and automating the gain on it instead of the channel strip. This allows me the freedom to still change the overall volume of that channel without conflicting with the automation.