Problems installing Groove Agent 2

Discussion in 'PC' started by The Bassweasel, Jun 19, 2011.

  1. The Bassweasel

    The Bassweasel Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO, USA
    Has anyone else had a problem getting Steinberg Groove Agent 2 working? It seems to install OK, and opens in Cubase 5, but when you point it to it's content folder, it never seems to recognize it and then crashes. If you attempt to run it in stand alone mode, it puts up a "Plug In Not Found" message, and fails to open. Running Windows 7, Duo Core, 4 Gigs of memory. Any tips or help greatly appreciated.

    Artie
     
  2.  
  3. The-RoBoT

    The-RoBoT Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Plan 9
    I assume you are running the last vers AiR rlsd also known as Internal, if so read their nfo, if it's not that vers then dongle
    emu will clash.
     
  4. The Bassweasel

    The Bassweasel Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO, USA
    Thanks! Yes, it's the latest Air Internal. The instructions say to copy the "Groove Agent 2 Content" dir to a folder of your choice, and then run the plugin and locate content path manually.

    The problem is that even though you can point it to the content folder, it refuses to recognize it somehow. I've pointed it to the correct folder many times, and it never works.
     
  5. quadcore64

    quadcore64 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    1. Is there a copy of the plugin in the program directory for groove agent?

    2. Have you tried re&re? Clean install...

    3. Is the VST in the Steinberg/Cubase/VstPlugins folder?
     
  6. The Bassweasel

    The Bassweasel Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO, USA
    Everything seems to be in order.
     
  7. The Bassweasel

    The Bassweasel Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO, USA
    Well, now it has found the content folder, but consistently crashes Cubase 5 the instant it starts to load. If you hide the content folder from it, it will launch, and if you hit run, it gives the "please locate the groove agent 2 content folder" window. If you then locate the content folder, it crashes Cubase 5. It still does the "plugin not found" bit in stand alone.

    Anyone have a suggestion for another drum machine VST with some good Jazz styles?


    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
    Application Name: Cubase5.exe
    Application Version: 5.1.1.120
    Application Timestamp: 4b0abdcb
    Fault Module Name: StackHash_14be
    Fault Module Version: 6.1.7600.16695
    Fault Module Timestamp: 4cc7ab86
    Exception Code: c0000374
    Exception Offset: 000cea27
    OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.1
    Locale ID: 1033
    Additional Information 1: 14be
    Additional Information 2: 14bef09d3b742688e35e776f4740efd5
    Additional Information 3: 84dc
    Additional Information 4: 84dc34acff6247c6bb8fe7c483189d0a
     
  8. lampwiikk

    lampwiikk Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Spectrasonics Stylus RMX, Addictive Drums, Superior Drums, and lately I've really been having some fun with Arturia's Spark Drum Machine Plug-in. Depends on what you're trying to do and what depth you really need. As I recall BFD2 has some good jazz midi libraries and some pretty nice groove/randomization features, but it's pretty memory intensive.
     
  9. The Bassweasel

    The Bassweasel Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO, USA
    Thanks for the great ideas! I'm checking out Addictive Drums, and I installed the update and the jazz package with brushes. I'll have to see if I can find a good Latin package for one of those. Thank you!
     
  10. The-RoBoT

    The-RoBoT Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Plan 9
    Yes Addictive Drums is the better choice.

    Also some apps and plugins need to be run as Administrator, i know most people are the Administrator of their machine but you still need to right click on install and also when trying to run an app/ plugin etc right click and "run as Administrator".

    I would suggest you run Groove Agent 2 Standalone vers from desktop doing the "run as Administrator" then point to content folder etc
    then see if that helps.

    Windows 7 is a bastard like that, not that it will be around for long :)

    Cheers
     
  11. Guitarmaniac64

    Guitarmaniac64 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    9
    Do a reinstall just uninstall the plugin and standalone version NOT the content as it doesn´t have anything to do with your problem.
    Clean everything in the register that says groove agent 2 then install again and use the standalone version to recognize the content and then open the vsti in cubase 5 now you should be ok. it doesn´t take so much time to do under 20 min.

    As for other drum-vsti:s go for Ez-drummer = very userfriendly and simple to use.The same goes for Addictive drums.
    It all depends what kind of music you are making i find that BFD2 is a bit "hard to understand" but the drumlibrarys sounds very good and realistic and you can really dig deep in the sound of the drumkits.

    The same goes for superior drummer but it´s more userfriendly atleast i.m.o.

    I´m pretty sure all the "drummachine" products like Stylus RMX,Guru,Spark,Mdrummer,etc. will do a nice job if you into the dancemusic but even if you don´t you can still use them for other purposes aswell try them all and decide which one you like the most and go for that one.
     
  12. derelemako

    derelemako Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    with version h2o:

    install groove agent 2

    reboot - press F8 during startup - run in safe mode & install the crack

    good luck !!
     
  13. Darko Dronjić

    Darko Dronjić Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    THERE IS NO WAY OF USING GROOVE AGENT 2 INTERNAL AIR ON CUBASE 5 WIN 7 AS VST.
    DON'T EVEN INSTALL VST. INSTEAD USE GROOVE AGENT REWIRE,
    BUT YOU MUST INSTALL GA IN DEFAULT STEINBERG FOLDER.
    SAME THING WITH VIRTUAL BASSIST.
    AND BROOMSTICK BASS ONLY NEEDS TO BE INSTALLED WITH COMPATIBILITY MODE FOR XP SP3 AND IT WORKS. GOOD LUCK!
     
  14. arthurart85

    arthurart85 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't manage to find anymore GA2 on inet.

    Does someone could contact me in order to share vsti drums plug?

    thanks
     
  15. arthurart85

    arthurart85 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Eventually I managed to find a VALID link to GA2 air version.

    HERE : all-shares DOT com/folder/25393978/steinberg-groove-agent-2-build-29-internal-by-air

    or just type "groove agent 2 airiso internal" on google and try to find links to letitbit DOT net
     
  16. arthurart85

    arthurart85 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    By the way i wanted to say that i perfectly managed to make work GA2 airiso version on live with a windows 7 as vsti plugin and not going thru the Rewire channel.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads Forum Date
Problems installing FL Studio 12 on Windows 10 FL Studio Aug 19, 2015
Problems installing Toontrack Custom and Vintage SDX Software Jan 12, 2015
ongoing problems installing R2R NI software Mac / Hackintosh Oct 30, 2014
The problems of installing shit offline Lounge Jul 25, 2013
Problems installing Reaktor 5. PC Oct 1, 2011
Loading...