Problem with FL Studio and UAD Plugins

Discussion in 'FL Studio' started by alwin1, Apr 19, 2021.

Tags:
  1. alwin1

    alwin1 Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2021
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    49
    Hello,

    I noticed something while opening an old Fl Studio project wie UAD Plugins on Windows. Immediately after opening the project, the CPU inside FL spiked to 100. I had to wait 5 minutes until the CPU was back to normal. I opened an other Project with UAD Plugins and it was the same. I just found out that after loading a project I could immediately bring the CPU spike down by disabling the UAD Plugins and turning them on again.
    However that is pretty annoying, is there something wring with my settings or is this a common bug?
    Projects with way more plugins and way more cpu hungy plugins load normal without any CPU spikes.
     
  2.  
  3. clone

    clone Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2021
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    64
    What UAD interface do you have, to start? Which plugins? Some have a very big difference in the amount of resources.
     
  4. Jim Von Gucci

    Jim Von Gucci Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2020
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    106
    We average users with cracked versions of FL can't afford UAD. :rofl:
    Possibly check the buffer settings.
     
  5. clone

    clone Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2021
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    64
    well, UAD provides DSP resources before the plugins should be taxing the system (reasonable portion). Each model provides different amount of resources based on the # of cores. Each plugin consumes widely varying amounts of those resources.

    and then how FL handles this is another issue separately...
     
  6. alwin1

    alwin1 Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2021
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    49
    Apollo twin, I use mostly the 1176 and the LA2
     
  7. alwin1

    alwin1 Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2021
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    49
    Yeah I also think its FL causing these problems
     
  8. Angelo Archetti

    Angelo Archetti Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2021
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Italy
    I don't think someone who has an Apollo twin has a cracked daw.:wink::rofl:
     
  9. Angelo Archetti

    Angelo Archetti Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2021
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Italy
    suggest you switch to some more serious daw than Fl, like Cubase or Ableton or if you have enough money.... Pro Tools:wink:
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • List
  10. clone

    clone Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2021
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    64
    Have you used the Twin with any other plugin host/daw? That would be the easiest way to just rule out FL and the UAD being installed correctly. Personally, if I just had to guess, it is an issue due to the individual plugins, or the UAD; and not FL. Somehow. UAD has an entire step by step process detailed to "just keep trying to install/uninstall until it randomly works" procedure on their website. For Mac. :dont:
    One of their Mojave specific failure procedures has you manually move files and their directory syntax is wrong. You could even get a brand new defective one! lol.

    so I am not sure it is FL, and it's a 1000$ interface, (sad). You have a problem to unravel and more step by step info is needed. When did you get the UAD? Did this problem start as soon as you started using the UAD?

    How many instances of LA2 is in the problem project? This may not be perfect, but it is a chart of the approximate UAD DSP consumption per plugin instance: https://help.uaudio.com/hc/en-us/articles/215262223-UAD-2-DSP-Chart

    So the Twin is a Quad Core. The DSP usage for one instance of LA2 is approximately 21.1%. per UAD's own numbers. Remember that this is per instance of the plugin that is loaded, not # of audio channels being sent to it (this may be more than one). 4 instances will consume almost all the DSP resources of the Twin.

    @"suggest you switch to some more serious daw than Fl, like Cubase or Ableton or if you have enough money.... Pro Tools", if the UAD is getting spiked because of the plugin DSP consumption; running ProTools is not going to change anything. Look at the DSP usage for the Thermionic Culture Vulture plugin as an extreme example of how different they can be.


    This guy has them running in FL so it does work:
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2021
  11. Angelo Archetti

    Angelo Archetti Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2021
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Italy
    All right what you say but the boy's problem is that the pc cpu when he opens a uad plugin reaches 100% and stays there for a while
     
  12. alwin1

    alwin1 Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2021
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    49
    Thank you so much for your answer.

    I did get the UAD two months ago and it did start as soon as I started using the UAD. The problem occurs also when using just one UAD plugin. I can load a project with like 30 waves plugin but as soon as I load a project with just one UAD plugin in it the cpu spikes to 100. Same with ableton
     
  13. Angelo Archetti

    Angelo Archetti Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2021
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Italy
    About your pc spec?
     
  14. alwin1

    alwin1 Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2021
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    49
    I use a gaming laptop with

    Intel Core i5 9300
    16gb ram
     
  15. clone

    clone Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2021
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    64
    isn't there a benchmarking page for it, maybe? if it is doing the same thing in Studio 1 or Ableton,etc. FL is not your issue. It's something relative to the Apollo. It's either hardware misinstallation, having too much dsp consumption, overloading, bad unit, etc....

    are you sure you have the correct driver for it enabled?
     
  16. Angelo Archetti

    Angelo Archetti Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2021
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Italy
    Try this: uninstall the uad driver and download in this page https://www.uaudio.com/uad/downloads/ and reinstall uad software. And then run the uad software and then this fl studio and try to load the uad plugin like la2a
    If not working try to contact uad support https://help.uaudio.com/hc/en-us
     
  17. clone

    clone Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2021
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    64
    how is it being powered?
     
  18. alwin1

    alwin1 Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2021
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    49
    I am gonna reinstall the drivers
     
  19. alwin1

    alwin1 Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2021
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    49
    thanks, what would be the smartest move
     
  20. alwin1

    alwin1 Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2021
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    49
    what do you mean? The apollo?
     
  21. Angelo Archetti

    Angelo Archetti Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2021
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Italy
    first try the first solution (reinstall ecc..) and then if not working try to contact to email the uad support
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Problem Studio Plugins Forum Date
SSL Native Plugins problem In FL Studio Software Jan 2, 2021
FL Studio 20 - Problem with Plugins(Could not be found) FL Studio Aug 28, 2019
Problèmes plugins FL studio dans autres DAW FR Jul 15, 2018
Fl Studio Bridged Plugins Problem. FL Studio Apr 3, 2014
Studio one 4.6 CPU Problem Studio One Mar 29, 2021
Loading...