Pro Tools v12.5 Audioutopia won't startup [Splash Screen]

Discussion in 'Pro Tools' started by cooper, Apr 22, 2018.

  1. cooper

    cooper Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hello!
    Pro Tools stopped working, it doesn't startup, it shows the Pro Tools splash screen and closes immediately.
    I'm on Windows 10, running the latest update.
    I've already trashed the preferences, tried to repair the installation, installed again, but nothing works.
    Is there anything else that can be done? (I'm hoping to avoid a Windows reinstall)
     
  2.  
  3. Olymoon

    Olymoon Impossible is not a fact. It is an opinion. Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    574
    Take out the aax folder (make a backup) and install with fresh aax folder. As it may be caused by a plugin.
     
  4. SquareDjay

    SquareDjay Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    France
    No don't reinstall your Windows! Are you crazy?! Follow the Oly tip.
     
  5. cooper

    cooper Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks, Olymoon.
    But after removing the folder and re-installing it is still not working.
    Can Windows Update or .NET Framework updates have something to do with it?
    Or some Windows Defender setting that could be causing this?
     
  6. Aileron

    Aileron Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    168
    Location:
    Holland / England
    Can't you roll back to a healthy restore point? (Prolly not or you would have done, I guess).
    Check interface drivers. If connected through FireWire have Windows use Legacy IEEE 1394 Bus host controllers drivers (access through Device Manager). Depending on type (brand) of graphics card, reinstall it. Also (temporarily) remove AppData settings from C:\Users\active(your)account\AppData\Roaming\Avid\ProTools. Unplug any unnecessary USB devices.
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2018
  7. cooper

    cooper Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks, Aileron.
    Yeah, I can't rollback at this point.

    I haven't changed anything as drivers go, and I tend to remove any left over drivers from devices I don't use often.

    I have an old USB M-Audio Mobile Pre II.

    The event viewer showed some erros with the graphic card's software and Waves suite but I removed all audio and graphic drivers and installed them again and still nothing.
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2018
  8. cooper

    cooper Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    8
    Well, this has got me beat.
    I double check and it couldn't have been the Windows updates, the Falls creator update was installed waaaay before the last time I used Pro Tools
    I deleted everything related to Pro Tools and installed it from scratch one more time just in case.
    It is very weird that the PT screen splashes for like a second and it disappears along with the process on the task manager.
     
  9. Mykal

    Mykal AudioP2P

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,144
    Likes Received:
    290
    Location:
    I'm Right Behind You
    Check your A.V.Log, chances are that the exe got blacklisted and that is why is starts then stops. I suggest you white list the exe and any releated
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  10. cooper

    cooper Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks, Mykal.
    There's nothing on the logs, I tried disabling the antivirus as well, but still no change
     
  11. oR1_PRS

    oR1_PRS Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    open with admin rights
    and win 8 compatibility.
     
  12. cooper

    cooper Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks, oR1_PRS.
    I already tried that and every other combination, even the actual admin user.
    I've also used Trasher to remove every config from Pro Tools, but version 10 and 12.
     
  13. Jedi_Knight

    Jedi_Knight Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Mustafar
    Uninstall and then use CCleaner and do a full registry clean. When done, do another registry clean and continue until there are no more errors found. Reinstall....this may work. Fingers crossed.
     
  14. cooper

    cooper Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks, Jedi_Knight, but, it didn't work either.
    I don't believe there's any issues with any plugin or PT configuration, as the screen splashes the PT window with the bar for a second, it doesn't even begin to load anything, and it quits the process immediately, no errors, no warnings, it just disappears as if I never clicked on the icon.
     
  15. SquareDjay

    SquareDjay Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    France
    Have you tried to exclude PT from Defender?
     
  16. Kwissbeats

    Kwissbeats Rock Star

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,106
    Likes Received:
    422
    Try this: lower your asio settings then start pro tools

    If that does not help, it might be defaulting to asio4 all, if that's the case you could try installing another.

    I know image line provides a working asio driver for pro tools with fl studio (how ironic haha)
    Which saved my ass one time.
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2018
  17. cooper

    cooper Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks, SquareDjay, Kwissbeats.
    It's excluded from my antivirus and Windows Defender Exploit Protection (override of system settings for Exploit Protection, I don't know if there's another way), nothing, it's driving me crazy.
    I've tried changing the buffer size, but it doesn't do anything.
    My sound card has native ASIO drivers, I don't use asio4all.
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2018
  18. SquareDjay

    SquareDjay Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    France
    And have you tried to clear the folder C:\Program\Common files\Avid\Audio\Plugins(unused) ?
    This folder is the list of the buggy plugins that ProTools couldn't open.
     
  19. Aileron

    Aileron Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    168
    Location:
    Holland / England
    Suspect a software resource conflict.

    Many abnormal terminations are the result of two or more pieces of software conflicting with one another. Although not all software utilize the same data resources, multiple programs trying to make use of the same resources or drivers can potentially block one another or inhibit functionality. These conflicts can cause serious errors in the software's operation, causing Windows to forcibly terminate them.

    A good way to identify if a software or driver conflict is at fault is to perform a clean boot, which will start your computer with minimal drivers/auto-launching applications.
     
  20. cooper

    cooper Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    8
    SquareDjay, I deleted everything Pro Tools related from every folder including templates.

    Aileron, thanks, it sure looks like it, I've tried Safe Boot but nothing happened either. Is there any specific configuration I should consider?

    The screen splash is so quick I can't even manage to take a screenshot

    I can't believe there's not a tool to list these conflicts
     
  21. cooper

    cooper Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ok, I'm guessing the way to go was removing from boot every other service that is not Pro Tools related, I'll tried that and get back to you.

    If it doesn't work, I'm close to laying out some candles and doing a naked binary dance or something
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Tools Audioutopia won't Forum Date
Legit Slate Digital & AudioUtopia Pro Tools 12? Software Feb 28, 2018
Pro Tools 12.5 AudioUTOPIA default plugins? Pro Tools Sep 5, 2017
AudioUtopia Pro Tools 12 and cracked Melodyne Pro Tools Aug 30, 2017
Has anyone noticed this on AudioUtopia Pro Tools 12.5 Pro Tools Apr 22, 2017
Protools audioutopia 12.3 & 12.5 crash on startup - windows 10! Pro Tools Jan 23, 2017
Loading...