Pro Tools 9 - issues with Delay Compensation

Discussion in 'Pro Tools' started by kampana, Dec 27, 2013.

  1. kampana

    kampana Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I am new to PT, running 9.0.0 on MBP Snow Leopard 10.6.8, and experiencing troublesome issues with delay compensation:

    I have a single mono track with one region in it, sent directly to my master output. If I insert almost any plugin more expansive than a simple EQ, I get a significant delay of about 34702 samples per channel, and the delay compensation indicator is red

    My Playback Engine is set to H/W buffer size of 1024 samples, 1 Processor, 90% CPU limit, and my Delay Compensation Engine is set to 'Long'.
    I tried tweaking these settings but nothing helped. I tried switching between different plugins and see if I could find a pattern, but it seems like at least 50% of my Waves plugins will trigger this delay issue, while some plugins will not.

    For testing, I also exported the session and re-opened it in Logic Pro 9, where it worked just fine with no delay issues! What is it that Pro Tools does which is apparently so different from Logic?

    Any ideas what's going on? Please advise...

    Thanks.
     
  2.  
  3. angie

    angie Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Milano
    1024 is enormous for recording in real time!!!... :break: switch to logic maybe?
     
  4. Me2audio

    Me2audio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    16
    @ angie yes, it´s enormous for recording, but not for mixing.

    @ kampana

    what hardware are you using? what version of Waves are you using?
    TDM or Native versions of the plugs?
    its looks like a bug with those plugins with PT9
    try upgrade to pro-tools 9.0.5, stable with Snow Leopard 10.6.8 *yes*
    Pro-tools 9.0.5 Update
     
  5. Evorax

    Evorax Rock Star

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    318
    Location:
    Bowerstone Castle
    There's something wrong with the plugins themselves or the daw being set improperly. Did you tried to set a larger compensation setting in the Playback Engine? :dunno:
     
  6. kampana

    kampana Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    @ Me2audio,

    I am using a 4-year old Macbook Pro (2.53GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, with 4GB DDR3) running Snow Leopard 10.6.8.

    I use Waves 8.0.0 - native/RTAS versions of the plugins. I thought it was a bug with my Waves bundle of plugins, but the problem occurs even when I attempt to use plugins by other manufacturers. For instance, almost all plugins included with iZotope's RX3 will trigger the problem, and generally every plugin which is more cpu-expansive than a simple EQ :-(

    I would very much like to try and upgrade to PT9.0.5, but my current 9.0.0 is a K'ed version - would it make any sense downloading and running the 9.0.5 upgrade?
     
  7. Me2audio

    Me2audio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    16
    with hardware i mean which audio interface, digi003, focusrite, rme, etc..
    probably you are using the built-in soundcard.. audio core, which when required to process audio(native versions of the plugins) with a more complex plugins it wont cope.
    is Delay Compensation checked in the options menu?

    try toggling your delay compensation on and off and set auto Delay Compensation to maximum and a bigger H/W buffer size (if you are not recording).
    if you are using the same soundcard and H/W buffer size with logic and it works, probably it's an PT9.0.0 version issue.:dunno:,
    or Delay Compensation feature problem.
     
  8. kampana

    kampana Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I'm using Edirol FA66 connected via Firewire (which uses core audio). Delay Compensation is checked and H/W buffer size is 1024 (max). I'll try upgrading, and also try experimenting with another audio card, and report back the results.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Tools issues Delay Forum Date
Protools 12.5 database and access violation issues Need help. Pro Tools Feb 14, 2020
Issues with GRM Tools 3 (and PT12.3) cracks in El Capitan Software Sep 30, 2016
Rx 4 Connect issues with Pro Tools HD10 Software Oct 18, 2015
Pro Tools 12.5 text colors Pro Tools Thursday at 4:01 PM
Looking for something like Twisted Tools UltraLoop Samplers, Synthesizers Nov 25, 2020
Loading...