Pro Tools 11 CPU overload on Windows 7

Discussion in 'Pro Tools' started by munamoeni, Jan 18, 2018.

1. munamoeni

munamoeni Newbie

Hi

im a beginner sound designer and music composer for short movie, commercial and animation.

I was imac user for a long time. I use Pro Tools 11 and Logic Pro x as DAW.
    But Now i was decided moving to windows.
    This is my specification :

1. AMD Vishera 6300
    2. ASUS M5A97
    3. 250 SSD Samsung Evo 850
    4. 2 TB Seagate SSHD 7200
    5. 22 GB RAM
    6. Gigabyte Radeon HD 7850

i have a problem now. On Pro tools when i using kontakt with blue cat patchwork my CPU system overloading oftenly.
    Even with small amount of track (4-8 kontakt instrument or some synth vst like Uhe diva and reaktor) the cpu system performance goes to 80-100%.

Is this because my pc spec especially
    my Vishera 6300? or The RAM ?

My mid 2011 imac only have an i5 and 12 GB of RAM. But running smoothly even with 16 track of kontakt instrument.

3. zeppo20

zeppo20 Noisemaker

Increase buffer size.

4. munamoeni

munamoeni Newbie

Thanks for reply @zeppo20. But the problem is i can't play when using 1028 buffer size. The latency is too big. So im always stay at 256 when create a music.

5. powerplay

powerplay Ultrasonic

Welcome to native digital audio, that's how it works. Sad but true.

6. powerplay

powerplay Ultrasonic

Freeze everthing other than the instrument track you're actually playing. Buy an audio interface with low latency driver like RME, faster CPU, and even DSP based daw system like PT HD PCIe card.

7. zeppo20

zeppo20 Noisemaker

What interface do you have? I produce in cubase or recently Studio One, I mix in Protools.

8. tzzsmk

tzzsmk Audiosexual

"But Now i was decided moving to windows........I use Pro Tools"
    there you have the source of the problems :rofl: