Prevent pop/crackling in monitors/speakers at PC (re)boot?

Discussion in 'Soundgear' started by tzzsmk, Apr 1, 2019.

  1. lasteno

    lasteno Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    108
  2. wasgedn

    wasgedn Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3,185
    Likes Received:
    1,234
    Location:
    Germany
  3. tzzsmk

    tzzsmk Rock Star

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    410
    Location:
    Heart of Europe
    this works only with balanced cables (3 wires), you can unsolder ground pin on one end of the cable inside the XLR (or TRS) connector (frankly I don't remember which end of cable I did myself, should be unsoldered on the side of audio interface, but maybe I did opposite)


    I use PCIexpress audio interface, so yea there is most likely shared electrical delivery and ground on PCIex bus level - nothing to change in BIOS settings though, since the card does not run on external PSU power cable
     
  4. dbmuzik

    dbmuzik Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    251
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    The 1st is a power strip with surge protection. The 2nd is a power conditioner with surge protection, but it also filters the power from the AC outlet before it reaches the hardware you connect to it. That can help with radio and magnetic interference, hum, static, clicks, and pops to a degree depending on the quality of the product. Some of the cheap power conditioners on the market prove to be snake oil when they are taken apart and examined. So it's important to choose wisely. Generally, the best are the ones that have voltage regulators and not just the basic surge protection.
     
  5. JudoLudo

    JudoLudo Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    35
    hi there, I have the same problem with my Focusrite 6i6 (usb), when I reboot my pc and the interface and speakers are on. I thought it can be simply a driver matter. or, I used to have those "noises" when I set interface working at 48k and not at 44.1k. have you set differente freq from 44.1? if not, I thinks it's driver matter. maybe :)
     
  6. wasgedn

    wasgedn Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3,185
    Likes Received:
    1,234
    Location:
    Germany
    :wink::thanks::grooves:
     
  7. wasgedn

    wasgedn Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3,185
    Likes Received:
    1,234
    Location:
    Germany
    i think not..its simple power on crack...i forgot exact term...old samplers and hardware do same when switch on..
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2019
  8. rhythmatist

    rhythmatist Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,164
    Likes Received:
    676
    Location:
    Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
  9. wasgedn

    wasgedn Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3,185
    Likes Received:
    1,234
    Location:
    Germany
    do we need overvoltage protection power bars ??
     
  10. SmokerNzt

    SmokerNzt Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    202
    if you having a bad computer I mean process and memory then you should to upgrade your computer
    most clicking pop noise happen , because usb audio interface / and bad computer resource .
    if it was not your case this

    *try to replace the hub port of you audio interface to different port
    *try to use higher buffer size in the DAW itself
    *try to check the cable which you connect to audio interface / and speakers

    * disable all the windows feature in order you computer will use last resources
    here one example video only one fact in min 6:52. in the windows where it show "Preference Options "
    chose the option
    "adjust for best performance"
     
  11. No Avenger

    No Avenger Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    2,778
    Likes Received:
    1,974
    Location:
    Europe
    If you're talking about flash protection, no. An electrician once told me if a flash breaks through the fuse of the house and the room, those in the power bars are a piece of cake for it.
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  12. wasgedn

    wasgedn Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3,185
    Likes Received:
    1,234
    Location:
    Germany
    makes sense..:bow:
     
  13. rhythmatist

    rhythmatist Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,164
    Likes Received:
    676
    Location:
    Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
    If lightning strikes nearby, you are screwed. When I know a bad storm is coming or if I'm going to be away for a while, I unplug everything. Mostly I like the one I have and posted because it has a switch for each outlet. I can turn of the "standby power' for vampire shit when not in use. Might save 50 cents here and there.:drummer: It's also nice when using my old Fender Deville:metal: . Cleans up the sound. The AC voltage in some of the gigs I play can be suspect, too.
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2019
Loading...
Loading...