Preparing A Digital Master For Vinyl Pressing

Discussion in 'Mixing and Mastering' started by Stevie Dude, Jan 21, 2021.

1. Stevie Dude

Stevie Dude Audiosexual

Hi,

I've never done this before, I have no idea whether the master will be "remastered" again at the pressing plant (for volume or EQ tilt whatsover) or the even the workflow there (pressing plant) from the beginning to the end. Is there anything that I should know before doing this ? because from the information I gathered around the net, 100% of em saying "take care of the low end" which isn't really specific at all. I still have time to study about this, read etc, but just want to hear from anyone that has experience here first.

I just want to be extra careful before sending the master to the client so she can send it to her label and eventually to the pressing plant the best way possible so it wouldn't be "remastered" or touched again. The problem is it's a compilation album, and I have no idea (so does her) about the other songs and I never listened to any of them because they aren't "officially released" yet.

1. how is this different from the streaming -14LUFS format ? I also done the -9LUFS for CD for her before just in case.
    2. will it be okay to send a 48kHz 24bit wav or there is a better format that suited for vinyl pressing ?
    3. I understand that there will be a "test press" or something, should I wait until then and do the adjustment ?
    4. what about the low end management ? should I cut higher than the original ? or just tone it down a bit.
    5. should I ask the label to send me other songs just for reference ? it's a long shot and highly unlikely ill get it, is this important ? the thing is it's an indie label and they ask the artist to take care the production side of things while they will only press and release.
    6. anything, any kind of input is much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Edit : changed the title to something more appropriate.

Last edited: Jan 21, 2021