Plugins iCloud Backup

Discussion in 'Mac / Hackintosh' started by Reno87, Dec 27, 2023.

1. Reno87

Reno87 Newbie

Hi there!

I've just been installing a lot of plugins on my new Macbook Pro and even I have all the installers and external sound libraries on an external SSD, I am thinking that if I need to format my laptop or something bad happens to my system in the future, I will probably lose all the plugins and library folders.

Since I have the 50GB iCloud plan right now, it is possible to save those folders just in case? Or maybe is better to do a Time Machine backup? Or maybe I can do the backup and save it on the cloud.

I am not that experienced on MacOS so any advice will be appreciated.
    Thanks in advance.

3. saccamano

saccamano Rock Star

No clouds. Get yourself a good backup disk imager, make an image of the entire system and keep it locally offline on a large hard drive. It's the only way to be sure. If you're going thru all the trouble to make backups make it count.

• Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • List
  4. Will Kweks

Will Kweks Platinum Record

You can, and iCloud is fine for backup, though it works best if you're using several pieces of Apple gear. I like it personally for making a secondary backup.

I somewhat then second @saccamano here. Clouds are great and a good addition, but they're not a solid backup plan. I personally use several, as part of a personal save hygiene. So in short: 3 copies of the data, 2 on different mediums (say, HDD, SDD or optical disc), and one offsite (cloud is fine for this as long as it's not private data, do encrypt those).

So mine is simple, keep a local (working copy), backup daily to an external drive, and sync to a cloud. For ultracritical stuff, like private keys and such, I keep a copy on several providers, but encrypted.

Maybe I'm paranoid but you only need to lose your shit once...