Planning on buying a DI Box next to my Focusrite interface

Discussion in 'Soundgear' started by mallavolence, Jul 19, 2023.

1. mallavolence

mallavolence Newbie

I looked so much around for info or reviews, but I can't find something that makes me the decision.

I'm playing only guitars with active EMG81 pickups. So I could go with a passive as well an Active DI.Some say this is better, some say that one.

I was actually looking at 2 types in particular the
    Radial Engineering Pro 48
    or
    Radial J48 Active Direct Box

There is quite some budget difference, would these do well, or should I really go for a passive?
    Someone has some recommandations?

I'm really a beginner working with Reaper, a Focusrite 3th Gen and some VST.

But I really do find the info about DI boxes very different where I find some on the internet.

Hope someone can help me out a bit :D

Cheers
    mallavolence

3. Ariel Gonzalez

Ariel Gonzalez Platinum Record

if you are going radial, you might aswell look for an instrument dedicated DI or a tube DI (which i really liked when i could use it on my internship)

4. Olymoon

Olymoon Moderator

Are you sure that you need a DI box?
    Which Focusrite interface do you have?
    On most of them there are instruments inputs so you don't need a DI box.
    I have 18i20 and have directly plugged many different guitars and basses into it without any problem.

5. bluerover

bluerover Audiosexual