Pianoteq : your key is too old you need to reactivate

Discussion in 'Software' started by Zeyad eLmoghazy, Aug 27, 2020.

  1. Zeyad eLmoghazy

    Zeyad eLmoghazy Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2020
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    183
    this happened suddenly today , worked perfectly since it was released , this is the standalone version

    upload_2020-8-27_2-31-53.png

     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2020
  2.  
  3. Smoove Grooves

    Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    3,553
    Likes Received:
    1,320
    What happens when you click 'Reactivate'?
     
  4. Zeyad eLmoghazy

    Zeyad eLmoghazy Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2020
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    183
    it asks for the serial number
     
  5. The Revenant

    The Revenant Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    195
    Is your computer connected to the web when you use Pianoteq?
     
  6. doctorG

    doctorG Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    May 4, 2018
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    The Maltese
    There was never a keyfile needed for these....I would uninstall and reinstall
    If U need it...itz still avail on sister site
     
  7. Smoove Grooves

    Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    3,553
    Likes Received:
    1,320
    Which will make no difference if the plugin called home whilst Zeyad was online.
    Similar popup to what they do with the trial versions after a while. "This version is too old, please update". And it just stops working.
     
  8. Strat4ever

    Strat4ever Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2019
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    76
    uninstall Check the registry to see if there are still entries there, delete them disconnect from the net and try a reinstall
     
  9. Smoove Grooves

    Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    3,553
    Likes Received:
    1,320
    And that will definitely work, will it?
     
  10. Zeyad eLmoghazy

    Zeyad eLmoghazy Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2020
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    183
    Uninstalled with revo and reinstalled and blocked the internet connection from the firewall , but it still asks for a serial number , the vst version still works though
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 2
    • List
  11. DoubleTake

    DoubleTake Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,114
    Likes Received:
    609
    Best Answer
    I wonder if you installed it with Revo.
    If not, you might try that, so Revo can track where everything is written, and maybe can remove it on an uninstall.
    If you don't have a 3rd party firewall manager to manage Windows firewall, or a replacement, it's best to have one.
    I like ones that block everything until you allow it, and have an easy-to-look-at interface that shows duplicates and erroneous entries.
    I've used WFC (Windows Firewall Control) for years. It is now owned by Malwarebytes and i think it is free. (I paid $15 i think, but i keep using the old version pre-Malwarebytes).
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  12. twoheart

    twoheart Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,193
    Likes Received:
    660
    Location:
    Share many
    All "registry hacks" most likely won't work because if a software triggers a time lock it writes one or more entries to the registry then and not at installation time (and Dev won't call it HKLM/Software/Pianoteq/timelock" btw). OR it can write a small file anywhere into any directory on you HD OR it can change a single bit in a field in a database and so on and so forth. The possibilities are endless. If the cracker didn't find this behavior in the cracked files we would never find it by accident in the rgistry or in the filesystem.
    From therefore we must hope for a fix from the crakers :mates:
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  13. Zeyad eLmoghazy

    Zeyad eLmoghazy Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2020
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    183
    this didnt work , but this program is amazing ngl
     
  14. twoheart

    twoheart Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,193
    Likes Received:
    660
    Location:
    Share many
    On wich date did you install Pianoteq on your computer - If my installation stops working after exactly the same time its most likey a timebomb and not a calling home "feature".

    This was unfortunately to be expected. Yes Pianoteq is a great piece of software one should consider to buy it if possible.
    Or we can hope for the carcker to fix the issue :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2020
  15. Zeyad eLmoghazy

    Zeyad eLmoghazy Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2020
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    183
    I installed it when it was first released , 23 may
     
  16. DoubleTake

    DoubleTake Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,114
    Likes Received:
    609
    Ahh yes of course, it is different with legit progs. Not sure what i was thinking except i use it on most installs.
    Of course the version I use ... is not "legit" :rofl:
     
  17. DoubleTake

    DoubleTake Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,114
    Likes Received:
    609
    If you are talking about WFC, just make sure you turn on "Notifications" to be asked if you want to allow.
    Otherwise you may sit and wonder why nothing is connection to the internet !
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  18. twoheart

    twoheart Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,193
    Likes Received:
    660
    Location:
    Share many
    Then it triggers 3 months after install. Sounds plausible.
    So I would say it is a time bomb and a firewall won't help me in October (I reinstalled my PC in July). :no: :suicide:
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  19. twoheart

    twoheart Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,193
    Likes Received:
    660
    Location:
    Share many
    I checked my old system a moment ago. There I installed Pianoteq 6.7.0 on 2020-04-21. It is still running.
    Did you install the portable version that came out in May? @Zeyad eLmoghazy
    If so, try installing Pianoteq installer version from April 19th (fixed version).
    Good Luck!

    (This most likeky won't interfere with the portable version as they (portables) use their own virtual registry in a sandbox.)
     
  20. Zeyad eLmoghazy

    Zeyad eLmoghazy Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2020
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    183
    you are right , its april 19th I read it wrong from the sister site , the standalone version only though , the vst is still working
     
  21. The Revenant

    The Revenant Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    195
    So probably not a timebomb but a call home.
    Have you been connected to the web when using the standalone but not when using the VST?
    The best way to avoid problems: throw away firewalls and all these craps, just shut down your WiFi or unplug your cable when using a cracked software.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Pianoteq need reactivate Forum Date
Pianoteq 7 Installer Needed Software Nov 21, 2020
Pianoteq 7 Software News Nov 11, 2020
Modartt Pianoteq 6 Presets Problem Software May 21, 2020
Cubase recognizes some 64 bit plugins as 32 bit and blacklists them (Pianoteq, M-Tron, Valhalla...) Cubase / Nuendo Apr 19, 2020
Pianoteq STAGE.....WOW!! Software Feb 12, 2020
Loading...