overclocking memory

Discussion in 'PC' started by itisntreal, Feb 28, 2021.

  1. itisntreal

    itisntreal Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2019
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Twilight Zone
    i was wondering if overclocking the memory can damage the mainboard
    i have jskill 3600mhz cl16 ram downclocked the memory to 3200 and got tighter timings but it wasn't noticeable
    although i clocked my ram to 4000mhz and the difference was noticeable but now i wonder can it damage my motherboard the memory doesn't bother me

    mb: asus b 550 f gaming
    cpu: amd 3800x @ 4.4ghz v1.2875
    ram jskill 3600mhz @ 4000mhz 1.35

     
  2. Kuuhaku

    Kuuhaku Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2019
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    148
    I dont think so, did you check the temp after doing the overclock? Noticed any changes on motherboard temps? If you don't know how to check it (I bet you know but anyway) try using HW monitor or AIDA64

    I just checked the specs, so it says it can go up to 4600mhz, so you should be fine in 4000
    - 4x DIMM, max. 128 GB, DDR4 4600 (OC) / 4400 (OC) / 4133 (OC) / 4000 (OC)
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2021
  3. Haliax

    Haliax Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2019
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    600
    Location:
    Inside the Outside
    Asus make great motherboards, I clocked my RAM at its maximum stated frequency and haven't looked back since. Worst case scenario is that windows will freeze if you clock it too far, so you will need to go back in to the BIOS and drop the frequency so you get a stable run. Test it with something like Memtest64 to check how stable it is.
     
  4. Clayton123

    Clayton123 Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    68
    No you would damage the memory controller on the actual cpu long before the motherboard. But if you're not running too high of voltages and your temps are under control then you'll be fine. (1.3v CPU, 1.1v SOC, 1.3v RAM, are generally considered safe for the long term with ryzen)

    By the way, you can actually get better performance if you downclock your ram to 3600 and tighten the timings. Ryzen cpu's have a system to talk with the memory, the Infinity Fabric or "FClock". But FClock can't run higher then 1800Mhz. And FClock also runs the best when it's at a 1:1 ratio with your memory clock "MClock" At 4000Mhz your ram's MClock is actually running at 2000 Mhz. This is because DDR ram has 2 data cycles per clock cycle (DDR=Double Data Rate) The 4000 Mhz refers to the amount of data checks, since there's 2 per clock cycle, your actual ram clock speed is half whatever MHz you choose. So if you drop your ram's speed to 3600, its MClock will drop 1800, and be at 1:1 with FClock. Which will actually have a fairly noticeable effect on performance, especially if you can get tighter timings. I explained this pretty briefly, if you want more detail google "ryzen infinity fabric ratio".

    TL;DR Drop your memory down to 3600MHz, tighten the timings, and you'll actually get better performance on Ryzen than at 4000MHz
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  5. PartyShit

    PartyShit Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    74
    Nah dude doesnt worth it
    The way I do my overclocking is I use nvidia inspector and I can overclock my laptop GPU +135 MHZ and I can overclock my GPU memory with +650 MHz
    its much more snappier and faster so basically this overclocking makes my GTX960m perform like a GTX1050 laptop version
    Ableton and Cubase 11 uses my GTX GPU and both DAWs run much faster and more responsive
     
  6. joem

    joem Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    77
    dont fucking doit not worth it if you get it wrong it can fuck up royaly just put iti n xmp mode and leave it
     
  7. Haliax

    Haliax Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2019
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    600
    Location:
    Inside the Outside
    XMP is not a thing for Ryzen. Ryzen uses DOCP (Direct OverClock Profile)
     
  8. itisntreal

    itisntreal Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2019
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Twilight Zone
    with realbench my temps dont go higer then 65-70
    the all core overclock is stable
    I have the memory on standard d.o.c.p profile 3600mhz tested and manual timings
    i used ryzen dram calculater also downclocked the memory to 3200mhz with tighter timings
    but 4000 is more snappy in windows 10 the only downside with aida the latency is higer

    my fabric clock is 2000
    timings 19-19-19-36 4000mhz
     
  9. MrLyannMusic

    MrLyannMusic Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    956
    Likes Received:
    444
    Location:
    Tunis, Tunisia
    Best Answer
    I have my rams run at tighter timings than their own XMP profiles (3200Mhz + tighter timings), and the gains are somewhat noticable when playing fps games Like valorant for exemple, it also benefits real time processing power, and if you plan on recording with low latencies this also should help you...

    Is there a risk? probably not if you do this the right way...

    First of all check if your rams are high end and have heat sync, if they do processed, Start by adding a bit of voltage, ddr4 recommanded voltage is 1.35, i ran mine at 1.41, maximum safe voltages for ddr4 is 1.45, beyond that is a bit risky...

    What you're trying to do, is each time you substract 1 for the first 3, and 2 for the last one so it's like this :

    15 - 15 - 15 - 36 => 14 - 14 - 14 - 34

    or

    15 - 16 - 16 - 38 => 14 - 15 - 15 - 36

    Save reboot repeat, until blue screen upon boot or if it's a bit unstable, push a little bit of voltage through them... again let the 1.45 maximum voltage for ddr4 be your guide...

    This formula worked for me like a charm on many ram kits, i was able to oc old 2400 ddr4 into 3200 also + timing tightening...

    do some research, if your rams have samsung B die, you're in luck those usually clocks better and higher than advertised, but some wouldn't even boot with a small timing manipulation, it's literally silicon lottery...

    Good luck and if you need further support pm me.

    To answer your question, NO.

    ram usually have it's own vrm seperated from cpu vrms, (Voltage Regulator Module) are those little black things that regulate voltage to your cpu/gpu (found on the gpu itself) and ram... and the general idea is the more vrms the better, and nowadays, motherboards manufacturers have perfected this,

    so you probably could push those rams even more without a sweat, your motherboard could handle this with ease...

    my one recommandation is that you upbdate your bios for better compatiblity, and more optimisation...
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2021
Loading...
Similar Threads - overclocking memory Forum Date
overclocking amd 3800x PC Jan 12, 2021
Noob Question About Ryzen Overclocking PC Sep 23, 2020
Out of memory error in most V.R releases' installers Software Dec 31, 2020
Ryzen 5000 Series and Memory - A Primer Computer Hardware Dec 18, 2020
Looking for PC MoBo with lots of memory and PCIe slots PC Dec 2, 2020
Loading...