OS 9 audio suddenly corrupted :/

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by missing_music, Sep 9, 2024.

1. missing_music

missing_music Newbie

Hi,

TL:DR; OS 9 SoundManager is acting weird. Cubase 5 VST audio just stops playing after a few seconds until I restart, Live 4 is not able to preview audio in the left browser panel but then it's fine. Cubase also sometimes doesn't allow me to preview samples when importing.
    I'm still a relative newbie to the OS 9 world so I'm having trouble diagnosing/troubleshooting this! :wtf:

What I've tried so far:

- Trashing Sound Preferences, ASLM Preferences, System Preferences, MacOS Preferences
    -Tried using a Edirol US-25 USB OS9 compatible soundcard and it still acts weird!
    -Disabling/enabling Sound Extension and restarting
    -Disabling/removing ReWire, ReWire.inst and Reason Demo Engine extensions
    -Playing CD audio through Cubase, successfully capturing audio, then this outputting a silent AIFF file

I do not remember messing with any audio / system settings prior to this weird behaviour, haven't installed any new hardware. I remember playing around with AppleCD Player and using a light app that records CD input through VST processing.. I wonder if the CD playthrough thing has caused some kind of bug. Extensions Manager reported "REX Shared Library - - shlb ????" missing, not sure if this is related. Other programs that rely on Sound Manager like Reaktor, MaxMSP apps, HyperPrism PPC, Reason 1 work perfectly using the same existing Sound Manager.

I absolutely want to avoid installing a fresh Mac OS 9!

Please help, so confused :sad:

Last edited: Sep 9, 2024
    • Interesting Interesting x 2
    • List
  3. missing_music

missing_music Newbie

Currently seems to be okay after a Cubase 5 re-install. It allows me to preview samples in the Import dialog box but Ableton Live 4 still doesn't!