Optimal disk setup for audio workstation

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by tzzsmk, Aug 1, 2018.

  1. tzzsmk

    tzzsmk Rock Star

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    342
    Location:
    Heart of Europe
    I got Synology DS918+ with 4x 4TB Seagate IronWolf drives running at SHR (dynamic RAID5 essentially) some time ago,
    one of best purchases in long time I did btw, if anyone needs NAS, that model is best for price/performance/features imo,

    maybe not explicitly written in my original post, but I really ask for pure workstation drives setup, drives internally plugged via SATAIII, running when rig is on; no long-time backup to be considered as permanently plugged in of course ;)
     
  2. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    918
    Location:
    Europe
    Very important when using RAID
     
  3. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    918
    Location:
    Europe
    The only thing I can add is you only need a second SSD if you want to put in your more demanding sample-based stuff (some Kontakt libs being the classic example)
     
  4. G String

    G String Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    369
    Drives are about the most boring thing to buy. On a budget, one SSD, all the rest big SATA.

    Seems like overdoing it a bit, no? :D
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  5. midi-man

    midi-man Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    541
    True. The spare disk can be purchased later though when the price eases
     
  6. twoheart

    twoheart Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    392
    Location:
    Share many
    That's why it's called overprovisioning. In my case overoverprovisioning ;)
    Maybe it's a bit overdone but on the other hand a big SSD is quite an investment and I always try to be on the safer side.
    Let's check it back in five or six years and see wich SSDs are dead. I don't trust the vendors. They like to sell us new SSDs every few years.
    When I see the alledged MTBFs of HDDs and the statistics about real life dead drives... Yep, I don't trust the vendors :)
     
  7. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    918
    Location:
    Europe
    I think he was talking about the years of life you told.
     
  8. bigboobs

    bigboobs Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    30
    On SSD I placed
    * OS
    * Apps (DAWs)
    * Plugins aaand
    * Plugin presets :)

    I experienced a much faster start of REAPER when placing (A LOT of) plugin presets on SSD, especially with u-he plugins, which seems to be scanned on each start. I double checked it with DiskMon by Sysinternals (company bought by Microsoft some years ago) - they are scanned. So I cut the start time of Reaper from 30-45s down to 5s.
    I got tenthousands of presets, so it depends on your library. Furthermore, the presets are light on disk space so it doesn't matter
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  9. artwerkski

    artwerkski Rock Star

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    472
    Location:
    The outer rim
    SSD internal / NAS for storage, but do get all your int. drives SSD! You'll be laughing mate! :wink:
    >>
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  10. mono

    mono Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    548
    Location:
    Floating Amongst the Stars
    @bigboobs
    you can turn off the scan at startup if needed :wink:

    [​IMG]
     
  11. midi-man

    midi-man Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    541
    Interesting, I still think it's over kill for the average user.
     
  12. twoheart

    twoheart Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    392
    Location:
    Share many
    Yes, but that hasn't been the question.
    Title is: "Optimal disk setup for audio workstation", no budget.

    The scotsman seems to be quite poor, only 2 sq. meters of monitors :rofl:
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2018
  13. midi-man

    midi-man Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    541
    True Then, no budget.
    I did not get the feeling scotsman was poor. He sold his mic for bug $ and purchased a cheaper one.
     
  14. SineWave

    SineWave Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,861
    Likes Received:
    1,822
    Location:
    The darkest pit of my mind
    It kinda depends on what you're doing with your audio workstation.

    Like... If you're mastering, you need not much HD space. If you're mixing, you need far more space. If you're doing all that, you need even more space. :wink:

    And If you're Hans Zimmer, you need a whole HD factory. :rofl:[Seriously, a nice BIG RAID 5 or 6 NAS]

    Having said that, I think your setup is [probably] just fine, @tzzsmk.

    p.s. To the person who's blindly trusting SSDs and distrusting HDDs... I wish you good luck. When your SSD fails, and it will, you're gonna be visiting the Golden Gate bridge, and no... not to watch the sunset... :rofl:
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2018
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  15. artwerkski

    artwerkski Rock Star

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    472
    Location:
    The outer rim
    :) not with todays SDD prices and the results are day from night compared to mechanical drives ... stripe 2 SSD drives into one and; light speed. (case in point why I posted the vid.)
     
  16. twoheart

    twoheart Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    392
    Location:
    Share many
    Hey I don't trust SSDs either. No way, was only kidding with the hundereds of years they will stay alive. That was a three sets of the data Samsung Magician gives me, laughable of course. :rofl:
    I'm using two syncing 24TB NASes at home in two different buildings to be almost sure to have my valuable business and private data available tomorrow. :)

    But kidding aside. ATM I trust SSDs more than HDDs indeed. Over the last three years I lost 4 HDDs (desktop type) and no SSD (Samsung Evo) bought around the same time.


    P.S.: When my SSDs fail I can't afford to visit Golden Gate Bridge :(
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2018
  17. vaiman

    vaiman Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    148
    I've just installed a Dell Equalogic SAN with SAS disks in my loft. Hardware refresh at work was the kind donor of this beast
     
  18. midi-man

    midi-man Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    541
    Wow really nice. I installed many of these. VMware runs like a beast on it.
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2018
  19. KidPix

    KidPix Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    61
    • Interesting Interesting x 2
    • List
  20. SineWave

    SineWave Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,861
    Likes Received:
    1,822
    Location:
    The darkest pit of my mind
    With SSDs, it isn't important how long their lifespan is. What's important is how they die, and they will, and they do, abruptly and when you least expect it . It's like one day you have your life, and the other you don't. They just stop working. You have to make regular backups with SSDs especially. HDDs mostly die gracefully. As in, when they start showing bad sectors, you notice something weird in SMART data, then you usually have quite a while to make a backup of the data. I've encountered a lot of dead HDs during my time as a computer maintenance guy, and most of the HDDs could be saved somehow, I mean the data on them. In many cases they could even be used afterwards for storing some unimportant data.
    SSD when it dies is dead and buried. All the advantage you get from an SSD is speed [and silence :) I like that]. That's why I'm careful with using SSDs. I only use them and recommend them for a system drive, with regular backups. One of my clients lost some of his hard work because we didn't make a backup of his SSD. I will never forgive myself for that. But thankfully, it was a system SSD with only a bit of his work. He keeps all the important data on HDDs that I tested beforehand. I never put a new HD in any computer without testing them properly first. If a HD can be filled fully without a problem, and works for a couple of weeks without a problem showing up in its SMART data, then it is 99% sure for usage, for the next 3-5 years.
    The problem is, people don't do these kinds of tests with HDs... You should. Sometimes you can get a replacement HD just for showing them [the store] bad SMART data. :wink:
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2018
Loading...
Similar Threads - Optimal disk setup Forum Date
Optimal Headphone Loudness when mixing? Mixing and Mastering Apr 17, 2019
Optimal Ableton Mixing Audio Preferences & Export Settings. Live Nov 28, 2017
Buffer (Optimal) Settings? Samplitude Nov 6, 2017
How to let Kontakt use library on external disk? Kontakt Apr 24, 2019
Logic Pro x - Disk too slow or system overload? Computer Hardware Mar 9, 2019
Loading...