Omnisphere without 80GB garbage?

Discussion in 'Omnisphere' started by Roject, May 10, 2020.

  1. babuk

    babuk Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    52
    watch out dude, don't call those 80 gb of bloatware "garbage", these people are religious with omnsphere, they might rate you "funny" and what not. Anyway, simple and logic question answered with butthurt.
     
    • Funny x 5
    • Like x 1
    • Agree x 1
    • Disagree x 1
    • Winner x 1
    • Love it! x 1
    • List
  2. Roject

    Roject Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    253
    Thanks for the answer but I tried this before and after that there is no sound in Omnisphere.
    You can check it yourself by simply moving all folders from Core Library excluding Waveforms to other location then run Omnisphere.
     
  3. realitybytez

    realitybytez Rock Star

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    956
    Likes Received:
    390
    it's freaking hilarious. omnisphere's strength is it's immense library of immaculately sampled sound sources. there are a multitude of softsynths that can be used to create sounds without the use of samples. it's not a "simple and logic" question. it's like asking "how can i use kontakt as a synth without all those garbage libraries?". or "how can i use my screwdriver as a hammer?". sure, it's possible, but why? who is going to pay $500 for omnisphere and throw away the main part of the software? it is a silly idea. and just because i rated the question as "funny" doesn't mean i'm "butthurt". i have no axe to grind. i hope the op finds a way to do it. but there was a similar thread four years ago, and nobody ever came up with a solution.
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Dislike Dislike x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  4. Roject

    Roject Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    253
    Kontakt is a sampler + You have his clean version without any additional libriaries. You can use it with your own samples or own instruments without having install 50GB+ stuff.
     
  5. Roject

    Roject Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    253
    I don't wanna use something not according to the intended use.
    I don't wanna use sampler or rompler as synthesizer but synthesizer with additional libraries and samples as synthesizer without additional libraries and samples.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  6. The Pirate

    The Pirate Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    4,327
    Likes Received:
    3,422
    Location:
    NOYMFB
    No, there is not. The way Omnisphere was designed and coded does not allow for it to be used as you would like to. That will required for it to redesigned it. What for? The people who purchased it do so in part because they like its library. Some of them use the factory presets, and never bother with sound design. Moreover, nowadays storage is so cheap that it is not even worth to spend time trying to modify a good sounding library for the sake of saving 54.3 GB of space.

    In this case you should look at all the available option. If you only needed a basic synthesizer, getting married to Omnisphere was not a wise choice. Omnisphere is what it is. she is sexy but not perfect. Either put up with its flaws or get a divorce.

    Signed by Eric Persing
     
  7. Roject

    Roject Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    253
    This is weird. So it's a fake synthesizer? Maybe this is a hidding rompler with advanced editing option.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  8. Roject

    Roject Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    253
    Yeah. Maybe 54.3GB is not so much but having 54.3GB of good porn for a rainy day instead of libraries which I never use would be better deal for me. But I hoped it would be easy. Matter of registry script, deleting some folders and voilà.
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Winner Winner x 2
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • Creative Creative x 1
    • List
  9. The Pirate

    The Pirate Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    4,327
    Likes Received:
    3,422
    Location:
    NOYMFB
    :hahaha:54GB of porn. That is for beginners. I have a 4tb hard drive (with back up) full of porn. You never know when they will shut it down vro!

    Nothing fake about it. It is just the way it was designed. Certainly, if Eric wanted it to be use without its library he would have opted to do so but he chose not to.
     
  10. Lois Lane

    Lois Lane Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Messages:
    1,434
    Likes Received:
    1,504
    Location:
    Someplace Over The Rainbow
    When I bought my version of Omnisphere it came with it's own 500 gig HD with the library installed. It's nowhere near close to capacity.

    @The Pirate I had no idea that it needed the included library to function. I thought that it just had to find the Steam folder and voila, game on. Ya learn something new every day.
     
  11. The Pirate

    The Pirate Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    4,327
    Likes Received:
    3,422
    Location:
    NOYMFB
    Partly out of context. I said that the way Omnisphere was designed, and coded does not allow for it to be used as porn @Roject would like to use it. You certainly can unlink its library completely or partially but it is not going to work as is. When you try to use your own sound, this is what you get
    2.png

    Now, let us try to "fool" Omnisphere with a fake STEAM folder, and this is what you will get

    1.png

    In sum, what porn @Roject wants is "possible" but not worth the effort. As you know developers do protect their source code. As I said, there are plenty of options, and storage is very cheap nowadays. It is time for porn @Roject to continue being married to Omnisphere or get a divorce. Teh question is Omnisphere or porn?
     
  12. Roject

    Roject Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    253
    Fuck Omnisphere :hillbilly:
     
  13. Roject

    Roject Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    253
    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
     
    • Funny Funny x 5
    • Love it! Love it! x 2
    • List
  14. wavyj

    wavyj Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2020
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    26
    Just because I think it wasn't mentioned.. Make sure to check Serum in depth. It is really a beast of a synth with great sound and customisability.
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  15. The Pirate

    The Pirate Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    4,327
    Likes Received:
    3,422
    Location:
    NOYMFB
    mf.png





     
    • Funny Funny x 4
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  16. phumb-reh

    phumb-reh Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2019
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    160
    Location:
    Neverwhere
    I've no idea about Omnisphere, but I'd recommend Alchemy (if you can find it or use Logic), Absynth might be another choice for deep synthesis without a massive library. Both do samples.
     
  17. tzzsmk

    tzzsmk Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    1,214
    Likes Received:
    707
    Location:
    Heart of Europe
    now when I think about it, you can probably try replacing all unneeded Omnisphere files with dummy/empty files, hopefully plugin won't notice that, unless you'll try to perform any future updates...

    forget about deleting entire STEAM folder, it won't work that way


    if you want decent "just-synth", Synthmaster KV331 is my favourite goto - don't get discouraged by its graphical interface, it's very capable synth sound-wise
    :chilling:
     
  18. Roject

    Roject Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    253
    I tried exactly same thing yesterday with one folder from Core Library but after that no sound in Omnisphere. I tried other things like edit two files Preferences.xml and zmap.index. I deleted all the info excluding waveforms but no luck. No sound in Omnisphere after that. Structure of this plugin is very weird. This is a job for some smart guy who knows basics of programming and stuff like that because one small step can stop this task from succeeding.
     
  19. mrpsanter

    mrpsanter Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,521
    Likes Received:
    717
    I think that the solution is to change some registry keys (assuming you use Win) but you are of course playing with fire here.
     
  20. rollerball

    rollerball Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    29
    @Roject
    I think your best bet would be to use Camel Audio Alchemy. Comes with Logic if you're on Mac. Easily available on the "sibling" site for Windows.
    If you're using it on Windows purely for making your own sounds, get the v1.25 instead of the latest v1.55, as it's not possible to edit your audio sources in v1.55.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
Loading...
Similar Threads - Omnisphere without 80GB Forum Date
How to shift STEAM without installing Omnisphere again? Software Nov 28, 2019
Omnisphere 2 without banks Software Sep 5, 2016
Best Trap banks for Omnisphere Presets, Patches Monday at 8:07 AM
Different versions of Omnisphere components Omnisphere Monday at 2:47 AM
searching ressources folder .png files for new skin (omnisphere) Omnisphere Sunday at 10:52 AM
Loading...